Where to get an ID

DMV offers ID cards for those customers who require a photo ID, but do not require a Driver’s License. There is no fee for a Voter ID card, or if a customer qualifies for another no-fee ID. The cost for a standard Non-operator ID card is $10. An ID can be obtained from any Driver License Office, regardless of where you live.

To learn more about the ID cards available, click the links below:

Driver License Office

DMV Office

To obtain a first-time ID card, you must visit the Driver License Office in person. To avoid inconveniences, make sure you have all necessary documents before visiting the Driver License Office.

Requirements & Documents to Obtain a Non-Operator ID Card

ID Card Proof of Age & Identity
  • You must provide two documents from this category which provide your full name and date of birth. If you are unable to provide two forms of identification from the approved list of acceptable documents, DMV will review documents that you have in your possession to assist in verifying your identity. Documents that you may present as proof of age and identity, provided they include your full name (including your middle name), are listed in Table (1):
    Acceptable Documents
Valid Social Security Number
  • You must provide a valid Social Security Number (SSN). If DMV is unable to verify your SSN with the Social Security Administration, you may be required to present documentation of your SSN. Documents that you may present as proof of SSN are listed in Table (2):
    Acceptable Documents
Proof of Citizenship & Residency
  • To obtain a N.C. ID card, you must be a N.C. resident. Documents that you may present as proof of residency are listed in Table (3):
    Acceptable Documents

  • You must also be a U.S. citizen, or be able to demonstrate legal presence in the U.S. Documents that may be used to demonstrate legal presence are listed in Tables (7) and (8):
    Acceptable Documents

  • All ID cards, including driver’s licenses, are mailed to customers, which may take up to 10 days. When your application is accepted, you will be provided with a receipt upon request. Your receipt cannot be used for identification purposes.

Requirements & Documents to Obtain a No-Fee Voter ID Card

There is no fee charged for a North Carolina ID Card for an individual registered to vote in North Carolina who does not have acceptable photo identification under N.C. General Statute 163-166.13.

To obtain a No Fee Voter ID card, you must sign a declaration stating that you do not have an acceptable photo ID. If you already have an acceptable photo ID, you are not eligible to receive a No Fee Voter ID.

You must also be registered to vote. If you are not a registered voter, DMV will assist you in completing your voter registration application during your visit, and you will still be eligible for your No Fee Voter ID.

Proof of Age & Identity
  • You must provide two documents from this category which provide your full name and date of birth. If you are unable to provide two forms of identification from the approved list of acceptable documents, DMV will review documents that you have in your possession to assist in verifying your identity. Documents that you may present as proof of age and identity, provided they include your full name (including your middle name), are listed in Table (1):
    Acceptable Documents
Valid Social Security Number
  • You must provide a valid Social Security Number (SSN). If DMV is unable to verify your SSN with the Social Security Administration, you may be required to present documentation of your SSN. Documents that you may present as proof of SSN are listed in Table (2):
    Acceptable Documents
Proof of Citizenship & Residency
  • To obtain a N.C. Voter ID card, you must be a U.S. citizen and a N.C. resident. Documents that you may present as proof of residency are listed in Table (3):
    Acceptable Documents

  • For all of the requirements to obtain a Voter ID, please refer to Table (4):
    Acceptable Documents

All ID cards, including driver’s licenses, are mailed to customers, which may take up to 10 days. When your application is accepted, you will be provided with a receipt upon request. Your receipt cannot be used for identification or voting purposes.

Requirements & Documents to Obtain Other No Fee ID Cards

The following persons may also obtain an ID Card free of charge:
There is no fee charged for a North Carolina ID Card for a resident of the State who is legally blind, is at least 70 years old, is homeless, or who has been issued a driver license which has subsequently been cancelled as a result of a physical or mental disability or disease.

If a homeless person wishes to obtain a North Carolina ID Card without paying a fee, the homeless person must present a letter to the Division from the director of a facility that provides care or shelter to homeless persons verifying that the person is homeless.

Proof of Age & Identity
  • You must provide two documents from this category which provide your full name and date of birth. If you are unable to provide two forms of identification from the approved list of acceptable documents, DMV will review documents that you have in your possession to assist in verifying your identity. Documents that you may present as proof of age and identity, provided they include your full name (including your middle name), are listed in Table (1):
    Acceptable Documents
Valid Social Security Number
  • You must provide a valid Social Security Number (SSN). If DMV is unable to verify your SSN with the Social Security Administration, you may be required to present documentation of your SSN. Documents that you may present as proof of SSN are listed in Table (2):
    Acceptable Documents
Proof of Citizenship & Residency
  • To obtain a N.C. ID card, you must be a N.C. resident. Documents that you may present as proof of residency are listed in Table (3):
    Acceptable Documents

  • You must also be a U.S. citizen, or be able to demonstrate legal presence in the U.S. Documents that may be used to demonstrate legal presence are listed in Tables (7) and (8):
    Acceptable Documents

  • For all of the requirements to obtain a No Fee ID Card, please refer to Table (5):
    Acceptable Documents

All ID cards, including driver’s licenses, are mailed to customers, which may take up to 10 days. When your application is accepted, you will be provided with a receipt upon request. Your receipt cannot be used for identification purposes.