This page contains fee information related to the North Carolina Dept. of Motor Vehicles.

For a complete listing of fees & information about all acceptable forms of payment, please contact your local DMV office.

All North Carolina DMV Fees

Licensing Fees

Payments for transactions at DMV Offices are accepted in the form of cash, money order or personal checks[?]. We cannot accept debit or credit cards at this time.

Driver License
Class A License [?] $4.00/yr
Class B License [?] $4.00/yr
Class C License [?] $4.00/yr
Duplicate License [?] $10.00
Motorcycle Endorsement $1.75/yr
Learner Permit
Duplicate Permit $10.00
Learner Permit $15.00
Motorycycle Learner Permit $15.00
Commercial Driver License
Application Fee [?] $30.00
CDL Endorsement $3/yr per Endorsement
Class A License, CDL [?] $15.00/yr
Class B License, CDL [?] $15.00/yr
Class C License, CDL [?] $15.00/yr
Duplicate License $10.00
Learner Permit, CDL [?] $15.00
Graduated Licensing
Duplicate $10.00
Full Provisional License (Level 3) [?] $4.00/yr
Limited Learner Permit (Level 1) [?] $15.00
Limited Provisional License (Level 2) [?] $15.00
Temporary Permit $15.00

Licensing Fees, Contact Information

Email Us:

ID Cards

Payments for transactions at DMV Offices are accepted in the form of cash, money order or personal checks[?]. We cannot accept debit or credit cards at this time.

Other Driver License Fees
Driving Clinic [?] $50.00
Duplicate ID Card [?] $10.00
DWI Restoration $100.00
Identification Card [?] $10.00
Liability Insurance Restriction Removal $10.00
Restoration $50.00
Service $50.00

ID Cards, Contact Information

Email Us:

Vehicle Fees

Payments for transactions at License Plate Agencies are accepted in the form of cash, money order, personal checks[?] and debit or credit cards, limited to Visa, MasterCard and Discover.

Title & Registration
Certificate of Title $40.00
Corrected or Substitute Certificate of Title $15.00
Duplicate Certificate of Title $15.00
Duplicate Certificate of Title & Removal of Lien(s) or Duplicate Certificate of Title with Correction $15.00
Duplicate or Additional Registration Card $15.00
Duplicate Title with Reassignment $55.00
Failure to Transfer Title Within 28 Days $15.00
Financial Responsibility Civil Penalty $50.00, $100.00, $150.00
Financial Responsibility Restoration Fee $50.00
Financial Responsibility Service Fee $50.00
Instant Title $75.00
Manufacturer or Dealer Certificate of Title $15.00
Recording of Supplemental Lien(s) or Recording Assignment of Lien & Application of Transfer of Lien $15.00
Removal of Lien(s) from Certificate of Title $15.00
Replace Registration Plate $15.00
Repossessor Certificate of Title $15.00
Salvage Title (Form MVR-40 - Raleigh Office Only) $15.00
Stock Car Replacement $25.00
Transfer of Registration $15.00
Safety & On-Board Diagnostic Inspections
On-Board Diagnostic Emissions Inspection [?] $30.00
Safety Inspection [?] $13.60
Notary Acknowledgements
One Signature (Contract Agent) $5.00
One Signature (DMV State Office) $2.00
Three or More Signatures (Contract Agent) $7.00
Three or More Signatures (DMV State Office) $4.00
Two Signatures (Contract Agent) $6.00
Two Signatures (DMV State Office) $3.00
License Plates
Handicapped Placards $5.00 each
House Trailer and/or Camping Trailer $11.00
Motorcycle $18.00
Permanent & State Owned Plates $6.00
personalized plate $30.00
Piedmont Authority for Regional Transportation Tax for Vehicles Registered in RANDOLPH County [?] $1.00
Plate Fee, Private Passenger Vehicles $28.00
Plate Fee, Private Truck Under 4,000 lbs $28.00
Plate Fee, Private Truck Under 5,000 lbs $43.50
Plate Fee, Private Truck Under 6,000 lbs $51.60
Plate Fee, Trailer or Semi-trailer $19.00
Private Bus (16 Passengers and More) $31.00
Regional Transportation Authority Registration Tax for Vehicles Registered in WAKE [?] $5.00
Standard and Special Plates $30.00
Transfer of Plate $15.00
U-Drive-It Car $51.00
Vehicles Registered in DURHAM Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax $5.00 County Vehicle Registration Tax $7.00 [?] $12.00
Vehicles Registered in ORANGE Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax $5.00 County Vehicle Registration Tax $7.00 [?] $12.00
More Information
Commercial Plates [?] Call 919-715-7000
For Hire Plates [?] Call 919-861-3577
IRP Plates [?] Call 919-861-3720

Vehicle Fees, Contact & Delivery Information

Email Us:
Mail Us:
N. C. Division of Motor Vehicles
3148 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699

Safety & On-Board Diagnostic Inspections, Contact Information

N. C. Taxes

Payments for transactions at DMV Offices are accepted in the form of cash, money order or personal checks[?]. We cannot accept debit or credit cards at this time.

Highway Use Tax
Tax, Commercial Vehicles 26,001 lbs and over [?] Max $1000.00
Tax, Mobile Homes (Collected by Selling Dealers) [?] 2% Sales Tax, Max $300.00
Tax, Out-of-State Residents [?] Max $150.00
Tax, Overseas Vehicles [?] 3% Sales Tax
Tax, Overseas Vehicles - Military Personnel [?] 3% Sales Tax, Max $150.00
Tax, Special Mobile Equipment [?] 7% Sales Tax
Tax, Vehicles [?] 3% Highway Use Tax

Record Fees

Payments for transactions at DMV Offices are accepted in the form of cash, money order or personal checks[?]. We cannot accept debit or credit cards at this time.

Driving Record
Certified True Copy (Complete Driver History) $11.00
Complete Extract Copy $8.00
Limited Extract Copy (3 years) $8.00
Vehicle Record
Certified True Copy $10.00
Vehicle Information $1.00
Crash Report
Certified Copy $5.00

Driving Record, Contact & Delivery Information

Email Us:
Visit Us:
Mail Us:
N. C. DMV Driver License Records
3113 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3113

Certified True Copy, Contact & Delivery Information

Visit Us:
Mail Us:
N. C. Division of Motor Vehicles
3157 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3157

Vehicle Information, Contact & Delivery Information

Visit Us:
Mail Us:
N. C. DMV Request for Motor Vehicle Information
3148 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3148

Crash Report, Contact & Delivery Information

Email Us:
Visit Us:
Mail Us:
N. C. DMV Traffic Records Section
3105 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3105