Address Change Information

North Carolina law requires a person to obtain a duplicate  License or Learner Permit within  60 days after  the person has a change of address, NC G.S. 20-7.1. Failure to do so may result in a citation.

Important - Please Read

Online Terms of Service

General Information

The Online Duplicate Driver License or ID Card service allows you to purchase a duplicate or replacement of the last N.C. Driver License or ID Card that was issued to you.

Note: Customers with a suspended Driver License or with an outstanding debt with DMV are not eligible to use this online service.

If you need to renew your North Carolina Driver License or ID Card, please visit our Driver License Renewal page for more information.

Browse our Frequently Asked Questions for quick answers to common questions. If you need more help, you can also Contact Us with concerns or questions regarding Online Duplicate Driver License or ID Card requests.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is a duplicate Driver License? 

A duplicate Driver License is a reproduction of the Driver License you currently hold.

For what reasons may I request a duplicate Driver License or ID Card online? 

There are three reasons for requesting a duplicate Driver License or ID Card through DMV Online Services:

  • Your Driver License or ID Card is lost or stolen
  • Your Driver License or ID Card requires an address change
  • Your Driver License or ID Card is defaced or damaged
How much does a duplicate Driver License or ID Card cost? 

The cost of a duplicate Driver License or ID Card is $10.00. *
* For ID Card customers 70 and older, your duplicate ID Card is free.

Note: Make sure you have a Visa, MasterCard, Discover credit or check card handy. No other forms of payment are accepted for online transactions.

How does the Online Duplicate Driver License or ID Card Request work? 

STEP 1: Please Login - Enter your information to start the transaction:

  • Driver License or ID Card Number
  • SSN or ITIN or U.S. Visa
  • Date of Birth

STEP 2: Choose Your License - In this step you will have the opportunity to:

  • Choose a License to replace
  • What happened to your previous License?
  • Choose a background image

STEP 3: Your Information - In this step you will have the opportunity to:

  • Review/Update Personal Information
  • Confirm Mailing Address
  • Preview your License
  • Change background image

STEP 4: Review Your Order - In this step you can review your information:

  • Order Review
  • Information on License
  • Mail to Address
  • Fee Amount
  • Preview your License
  • Confirm Terms of Service

STEP 5: Your Payment - In this step you will have the opportunity to:

  • Enter your credit card information
  • Enter billing address
  • Enter contact information
  • Preview your License

STEP 6: Your Receipt - In this step you will have the opportunity to:

  • Print Receipt
  • Preview your License

Note: You should receive your duplicate Driver License or ID Card within 10 business days of the date you request it.

Can I update my Voter Registration? 

DMV would like to help you apply for or update your voter registration information. To change your voter registration address, you may visit the State Board of Elections website to download the voter registration update form. You should complete the form and mail it to your county board of elections office. If you do not have access to a printer, please contact your county board of elections office to receive the necessary form to update your address. Click here to visit the State Board of Elections website.

Can I cancel my transaction? 

You may cancel your transaction at any time by clicking the cancel button located at the bottom of every page. If you cancel your transaction, none of the changes you make to your personal information will be recorded by NC DMV.

What about Security? 

Your privacy and security are our highest priority. That's why we're hard at work on an ongoing basis to keep DMV Online Services one of the most secure websites on the Internet. Here are just a few of the things we are doing to protect you:

  • Our Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) software is the industry standard and among the best software available today for secure online commerce transactions. It encrypts all of your personal information, including credit card number, name, and address, so that it cannot be read as the information travels over the Internet.
  • None of your credit card information is stored in any way by NC DMV.

We hope you will take advantage of the convenience DMV Online Services offers with complete confidence in its security. If you have any concerns, please contact us by Clicking Here.

Note: DMV Online Services does not collect or share data on Website users for marketing purposes.

What are acceptable documents you can use for a duplicate Driver License or ID Card? 

You must have a valid Social Security Number or ITIN or U.S. Visa Number on file with DMV.

Where do I find the Date of Birth and NC Driver License/ID Card Number? 

Find Your NC Driver License Number

You may also find your Driver License Number on Personal Checks or Vehicle Insurance Policies.

Find Your DMV ID Card Number

You may also find your DMV ID Card Number on Personal Checks or Vehicle Insurance Policies.

Who can use DMV Online Services to obtain a duplicate Driver License or ID Card? 

All eligible North Carolina residents who currently have a North Carolina Driver License or ID Card issued on or after January 2000 with a retrievable digital photo on file, can use DMV Online Services.

What services are provided through the Online Duplicate Driver License or ID Card Request? 

You can do the following through the Online Duplicate Driver License or ID Card Request service:

  • Request replacements of any current, valid licenses or ID Cards you hold
  • Make residential and mailing address changes
  • Make changes to your email address
  • Make changes to your contact phone number
How is requesting a duplicate Driver License or ID Card online different from obtaining a duplicate Driver License or ID Card in a Driver License office? 

The Online Duplicate Driver License or ID Card Request service is intended for customers who require minimum changes or updates to their current Driver License or ID Card. The reasons for requesting a duplicate Driver License or ID Card online include updating your residential and/or mailing address or replacing a lost/stolen or defaced/damaged license or ID Card.

When obtaining a duplicate Driver License or ID Card at a Driver License office, you may update your class of license; you may add or change your endorsements; you may change your name and address or any other personal information that is included on your Driver License or ID Card. You may also take another picture which will update the image DMV has on file.

What do I need to have in order to request a duplicate Driver License or ID Card online? 
  • A valid Driver License status (not expired or suspended with a status of "active") or a valid ID Card.
  • A Driver License or ID Card issued after January 2000 with a retrievable digital image on file with DMV.
  • A valid email address at which we can Email your receipt.
  • Your Driver License or ID Card number, date of birth, SSN or ITIN or U.S. Visa number.
  • A Visa, MasterCard or Discover credit or check card. No other forms of payment are accepted for online transactions.
  • A web browser that supports Secure Socket Layer (SSL) such as Firefox or Internet Explorer.
How do I change my address with DMV Online Services? 

The DMV Online Services Duplicate Driver License or ID Card Request service provides customers the opportunity to change both their residential address and their mailing address for their duplicate Driver License or ID Card.

Can I change my Driver License from a Class C (Graduated) to a Class C (Operator) License through DMV Online Services? 

You cannot change the class of your Driver License or Learner Permit online.

If you are 18 years old and hold a Class C Level 3 Graduated Driver License, you cannot obtain a duplicate Driver License online. You must visit your nearest driver license office. Since you've reached your 18th birthday, you will be required to obtain a regular Class C Driver License or a regular Class C Learner Permit.

To locate the Driver License office nearest you, Click Here or call (919) 715-7000.

Can I request a duplicate of my Level 3 Graduated Driver License online? 

If you have a Level 2 Graduated Driver License, you may request a duplicate Driver License online.

Can I request a duplicate of my Level 2 Graduated Driver License online? 

If you have a Level 2 Graduated Driver License, you may request a duplicate Driver License online.

Can I request a duplicate of my Level 1 Graduated Learner Permit or regular Learner Permit online? 

If you have a Level 1 Graduated Learner Permit, you may request a duplicate online.

You may request a duplicate of your Classified or Commercial Learner Permit online as long as it is valid.

Can I request a duplicate Driver License online after I pay my restoration/service fees? 

You cannot transact online business with DMV after paying your Restoration/Service fees. Although you have paid the fees, your driver record still does not reflect an "active" status. After paying a restoration/service fee, your Driver License must be issued by a local Driver License office.

To locate the Driver License office nearest you, Click Here or call (919) 715-7000.

Can I request a duplicate Driver License online if my most recent Driver License was issued (without a picture) through the DMV "Temporary Driver License Unit"? 

You must visit a local Driver License office to obtain a duplicate Driver License.

To locate the Driver License office nearest you, Click Here or call (919) 715-7000.

My license or ID Card issue date meets the January 2000 date requirement but I'm still ineligible to request a duplicate Driver License or ID Card online. Why? 

In order to request a duplicate Driver License or ID Card online, you must have a retrievable image on file with DMV. Unfortunately, a very small number of the images on file are not readily available or have been in some way corrupted. Citizens who request a duplicate Driver License or ID Card online who have an invalid image will be required to visit their nearest Driver License office to have a new picture taken.

To locate the Driver License office nearest you, Click Here or call (919) 715-7000.

Can I request an Identification Card online? 

Yes you can, the Online Duplicate Driver License or ID Card Request service provides a means for requesting duplicates of Identification Cards.

Can I renew my Driver License online? 

Currently, North Carolina does not offer Driver License Renewal services online.

Can I change my name on my Driver License or ID Card through DMV Online Services? 

You cannot change your name through DMV Online Services. This type of transaction requires you to go the nearest Driver License office. Additional documentation is required for this type of transaction.

To locate the Driver License office nearest you, Click Here or call (919) 715-7000.

What if I receive my duplicate Driver License or ID Card and the information is not correct? 

As soon as you discover the discrepancy you should contact DMV by calling (919) 715-7000, through the Internet by Clicking Here or contact your local Driver License Office.

Note: If it is deemed that an error was made by DMV, the correction will be made without additional charges.

What picture will appear on my duplicate Driver License or ID Card? 

The most recent, retrievable image of you that is available will appear on your duplicate Driver License or ID Card.

What if I receive my duplicate Driver License or ID Card and I do not like the picture or the picture no longer looks like me? 

You may visit your local Driver License office and have another picture taken. Additional costs will be assessed.

To locate the Driver License office nearest you, Click Here or call (919) 715-7000.

What address will be listed on my duplicate Driver License or ID Card? 

Your residential address will appear on the face of your duplicate Driver License or ID Card.

Where will my duplicate Driver License or ID Card be sent? 

Your duplicate Driver License or ID Card will be mailed to your residential address unless you have provided a mailing address that is different than your residential address. In this case it will be sent to the mailing address you provide us.

What if my Driver License or ID Card is going to expire in the near future? 

If your Driver License or ID Card is going to expire within 6 months, you have the option of requesting a duplicate Driver License or ID Card online, or you may go to the nearest Driver License office and renew your Driver License or ID Card. If you choose to obtain the duplicate Driver License or ID Card online, you will still be required to renew your Driver License or ID Card at the time it expires.

How long will it take to get my duplicate Driver License or ID Card? 

You should receive your duplicate Driver License or ID Card within 7-14 business days of the date you request it.

What should I do if I do not receive my duplicate Driver License or ID Card within 14 business days? 

You should contact DMV by calling (919) 715-7000, through the internet by Clicking Here or contact your local Driver License Office.

Will my Driver License or ID Card record information be shared with any third parties? 

The Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act specifies that the personal information contained in your Driver License or ID Card record may not be released to anyone without your consent, except when it is a matter of public health or safety, or when the individual or entity requesting such information is otherwise authorized to obtain it under federal law.

What is the system availability schedule? 

DMV Online Services is available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day with the exception of a regular maintenance period between 4am and 12pm on Sunday mornings.

Can I add the "Veteran Designation" to my Driver License? 

Qualified North Carolina military veterans who are interested in applying for the "Veteran Designation" should take their DD-214 discharge form to their local driver license office to show they been honorably discharged. They can request the designation be added to their license at their next renewal at no additional charge.

If veterans would like to add the designation at any other time, they may present the discharge form and request a duplicate license at their local Driver License Office.

Read Official News Release

How do I contact the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) if I have additional questions? 

You can contact DMV by calling (919) 715-7000, through the internet by Clicking Here or contact your local Driver License Office.