The International Registration Plan (IRP) is a registration reciprocity agreement among jurisdictions in the United States and Canada which provides for payment of license fee on the basis of fleet miles operated in various jurisdictions.
About the IRP
Currently, the 48 contiguous US states, the District of Columbia and ten Canadian Provinces (Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec and Saskatchewan) participate in the International Registration Plan which authorizes registration of over 1.7 million commercial vehicles. North Carolina became a member of the Plan in 1977.
Who is required to register under the International Registration Plan (IRP)?
Any carrier that has a combined gross vehicle weight of at least 26,001 pounds or more with two or more axles, who intends to travel in two or more Member Jurisdictions (crossing state lines) transporting passengers or goods is required to register as an Apportioned Vehicle with the IRP.
What is an Apportioned Vehicle?
Apportioned Vehicle means any Power Unit that is used or intended for use in two or more Member Jurisdictions and is used for the transportation of persons for hire, or designed, used, or maintained primarily for the transportation of property, and
- A power unit having two axles and a gross vehicle weight in excess of 26,000 pounds; or
- A power unit having three axles or more regardless of the weight; or
- Combination exceeds 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight and must travel two or more jurisdictions.
- It is required by law to provide proof of liability insurance coverage when registering a vehicle
- Insurance must remain in effect with continuous coverage until the registration is terminated
In accordance with Federal Regulations, a for-hire operation engaged in interstate or foreign commerce with a GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating) of 10,000 pounds or more and transporting non-hazardous property, the minimum liability required is $750,000.00.
The Motor Vehicle Laws of North Carolina states that any owner of a commercial motor vehicle shall have financial responsibility for the operation of the motor vehicle in an amount equal to that required for for-hire carriers transporting non-hazardous property in interstate or foreign commerce. (G.S. 20-309. a1) The minimum required is $750,000.00.
Heavy Vehicle Tax (2290)
You must file Form 2290 and Schedule 1 for the tax period beginning on July 1st and ending on June 30th of the registration year. Registered motor vehicles that have a taxable gross weight of 55,000 or more will need to file a 2290 form. You may contact any IRS office or apply on-line at www.irs.gov/efile.
IRP Record Keeping
As an IRP Registrant you are required to record your mileage for each state traveled and report this mileage on your IRP renewal application for the reporting period required. Mileage reported shall include all movement (Interstate and Intrastate) including loaded, empty, deadhead and/or bobtail miles.
Documents needed for IRP Renewal:
- Form IRP-A (Apportioned Account Application)
- IRP-F (Apportioned Fleet Application)
- IRP-E (Apportioned Equipment Application)
- IRP-M2 (Apportioned Mileage Application)
- IRP-W (Apportioned Weight Group Schedule)
- MCS-150 (USDOT Number)
Unified Carrier Registration Program (UCR)
Did you know?
If you operated in the prior year and did not register in the UCR, you must pay both last year's and the current year's UCR fees to avoid possible enforcement action. North Carolina will mail the UCR registration renewal invitations to all North Carolina carriers annually.
The Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) Program requires individuals and companies that operate commercial motor vehicles in interstate or international commerce to register their business with a participating state and pay an annual fee based on the size of their fleet. Companies operating solely as brokers, freight forwarders or leasing companies are also required to register and pay a fee of $76.00. Companies providing both motor carrier services as well as broker, freight forwarder or leasing services are required to pay the fee level set at the motor carrier level.
A "commercial motor vehicle" is defined as a self-propelled vehicle used on the highways in commerce principally to transport passengers or cargo, if the vehicle:
- has a gross vehicle weight of 10,001 pounds or more;
- is designed to transport 11 or more passengers (including the driver); or
- is used in transporting hazardous materials in a quantity requiring placarding.
You must pay UCR fees annually in order to operate in interstate commerce. This has taken place of your Single State Registration System (SSR) and Interstate Exempt System (IEX).
To be able to register properly with Unified Carrier Registration system, we strongly recommend that you use the National Registration Web site or you may mail your payment together with your completed UCR application form to:
- Go Online:
- Mail us:
NC Division of Motor Vehicles
International Registration Plan Section
1425 Rock Quarry Rd., Suite 100