How do I?
Registration Renewal

Online Vehicle Registration Renewal is as easy as 1-2-3. Just remember, you have to have your car inspected first.

If you’re new to North Carolina or have recently acquired a vehicle, you must get it titled in North Carolina.

How to Title & Register a Vehicle

To avoid inconveniences, be sure you have all necessary documents before making your visit to your vehicle registration office.

Step 1: Requirements

  • You must have a valid North Carolina driver license or ID.
  • For vehicles owned by more than one individual, all signatures on required documents must be notarized, and accompanied by a black-and-white copy of the alternate owner’s valid driver license⁄ID, or a Power of Attorney must be provided to sign for the co-owner(s). If paperwork is being signed with a Power of Attorney, a black-and-white copy of the owner’s valid driver license is required when paperwork is submitted.
  • If mailing in the paperwork, please provide a black and white copy of your valid North Carolina driver license.
  • If you are a new North Carolina resident, your valid out-of-state driver license, along with your North Carolina Temporary Driving Certificate (TDC), is required to title and register your vehicle.
Vehicle Taxation & Inspection

Property taxes for the vehicle you wish to register must be paid.

Registration Stops or Blocks

Under certain circumstances, you may not be able to register your vehicle. Please address any registration stops or blocks prior to registering your vehicle.

Step 2: Documents

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles

  • $30,000 – bodily injury, one person
  • $60,000 – bodily injury, two or more people
  • $25,000 – property damage

General Statue 20-279.21 requires Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists coverage. Auto insurance policies with the minimum Bodily Injury and Property Damage limits are required to include Uninsured Motorists coverage. Policies with limits greater than the minimum must provide combined Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists coverage. Contact the Department of Insurance's Consumer Services at 1-855-408-1212, option 3, for further information regarding this statute.

Proof of Identity
  • You must have a valid North Carolina driver license or ID.
  • For vehicles owned by more than one individual, all signatures on required documents must be notarized, and accompanied by a black-and-white copy of the alternate owner’s valid driver license⁄ID, or a Power of Attorney must be provided to sign for the co-owner(s).

If you are a non-resident of the state of North Carolina, you will need to bring one additional document that proves one of the following:

  • Military ID for active duty stationed in North Carolina
  • Student ID showing enrollment in a North Carolina college or university
  • Vehicle is garaged in North Carolina for at least six months each year
  • Court-ordered sale of a vehicle
  • Vehicle is co-owned
  • Registration for a motor home
  • Documented medical condition
Proof of Liability Insurance

Step 3: Complete Appropriate Forms

Choose one of the below categories appropriate for your need, then complete and fill out the corresponding documents and forms.

Please follow all instructions when completing forms and documents. A valid North Carolina driver license is required for all services processed in person.

For vehicles purchased from an individual, submit the following:
Vehicle Title
Notarization Required
Lien Release
Must be completed if any liens are shown on vehicle's title.
Title Application ( MVR-1 ) Declare all liens, Notarization Required.
Odometer Disclosure Statement ( MVR-180 ) Must be completed if the vehicle is less than 10 years old.
Damage Disclosure Statement ( MVR-181 )
Declaration of Eligible Risk ( MVR-615 )
For vehicles purchased from a dealer, submit the following:
Vehicle Title
Notarization Required
Bill of Sale
Needed to show the vehicle's purchase price.
Title Application ( MVR-1 ) Declare all liens, Notarization Required.
Odometer Disclosure Statement ( MVR-180 ) Must be completed if the vehicle is less than 10 years old.
Damage Disclosure Statement ( MVR-181 )
Declaration of Eligible Risk ( MVR-615 )
Vehicle being titled in NC in the registered owner's name & owner has title, submit the following:
Vehicle Title
Notarization Required
Odometer Reading
Required if vehicle is less than 10 years old.
Title Application ( MVR-1 ) Declare all liens, Notarization Required.
Declaration of Eligible Risk ( MVR-615 )
For out-of-state vehicles with title held by a recorded lienholder, submit the following:
Current Out-of-State Registration Card
Odometer Reading
Required if vehicle is less than 10 years old.
Title Application ( MVR-1 ) Declare all liens, Notarization Required.
Declaration of Eligible Risk ( MVR-615 )

Fees

Accepted payment for transactions at DMV Offices include cash, money order, personal checks[?] or Visa, MasterCard and Discover credit and debit cards.

Title & Registration Fees
Certificate of Title $40
Instant Title $75
Plate Fee, Private Passenger Vehicles $28
Plate Fee, Private Truck Under 4,000 lbs $28
Regional Transportation Authority Registration Tax for Vehicles Registered in WAKE [?] $5
Piedmont Authority for Regional Transportation Tax for Vehicles Registered in RANDOLPH County [?] $1
Vehicles Registered in DURHAM Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax $5 County Vehicle Registration Tax $10 [?] $15
Vehicles Registered in ORANGE Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax $5 County Vehicle Registration Tax $10 [?] $15
Transfer of Plate $15
Tax, Vehicles [?] 3% Highway Use Tax
Commercial Plates [?] Call 919-715-7000
IRP Plates [?] Call 919-861-3720

Vehicle Fees, Contact Information

What is an Instant Title?

  • An instant title is a quick title service allowing a title to be issued on the same day.
  • For $75 in addition to all other fees, an instant title (also referred to as fast title) may be issued same-day, over-the-counter at the Raleigh & Charlotte state offices.
  • Instant titles cannot be issued for applications requiring a 15-day waiting period, such as duplicate titles or duplicate titles with transfer.

Accepted payment for transactions at DMV Offices include cash, money order, personal checks[?] or Visa, MasterCard and Discover credit and debit cards.

Instant Title Fees
Instant Title $75
Tax, Vehicles [?] 3% Highway Use Tax

Vehicle Fees, Contact Information

Same day service locations

  • Raleigh:
    N. C. Division of Motor Vehicles
    1100 New Bern Ave.
    Raleigh, NC 27697

    (919) 861-3577
  • Charlotte:
    N. C. Division of Motor Vehicles
    6016 Brookshire Blvd.
    Charlotte, NC 28216

    (704) 399-8306

Additional locations

  • Vehicle & License Plate Renewal Offices
  • An instant title can be ordered at other office locations. Your paperwork will be delivered via courier to a state office and the instant title will be mailed the next business day.

An instant title will not be issued under the following circumstances: