1	19A NCAC 021	D .0644 is	proposed for readoption without substantive changes as follows:	
2				
3	19A NCAC 02	D .0644	OVERSIZE-OVERWEIGHT OVERSIZE/OVERWEIGHT LOAD ESCORT	
4	VEHICLE OPERATOR CERTIFICATION PROGRAM			
5	(a) The Secre	(a) The Secretary of Transportation or-his the Secretary's designee shall administer an-Oversize Overweight		
6	Oversize/Overweight Load Escort Vehicle Operator Certification Program as required by G.S. 20-119.			
7	(b) The escort vehicle operator certification program Escort Vehicle Operator Certification Program shall include the			
8	following:			
9	(1)	Instruct	tion-instruction on safe and effective escort skills; skills.	
10	(2)	Examir	nation examination that documents course comprehension; comprehension.	
11	(3)	Recogn	ition-recognition of escort vehicle operator certification; and certification.	
12	(4)	Recogn	nition-recognition of escort vehicle operator certification from other states-which that have	
13		certific	ation programs for operators with out-of-state driver's license.	
14	(c) The department	$(c) \ \ The \underline{\ department\ shall\ } \underline{Department\ will\ } is sue\ a\ certificate \underline{\ which\ } \underline{that}\ provides\ recognition\ of\ satisfactory\ completion$		
15	of the instruction.			
16	(1)	The cer	tificate shall be effective for four years from the issue date.	
17	(2)	The cer	tificate shall be reissued upon satisfactory completion of a current certification examination	
18		adminis	stered by North Carolina Department-of Transportation (NCDOT) training providers.	
19	(d) Any person seeking authorization to be an operator authorized to escort a permitted to escort an oversize-			
20	overweight oversize/overweight load in North Carolina shall make submit an application to NCDOT the Department			
21	and attach a State certified copy of their driving record. Any person seeking authorization under this paragraph shall			
22	be qualified as follows:			
23	(1)	An an e	escort certified by another state's approved program;	
24	(2)	<u>A-a</u> No	rth Carolina law enforcement officer; or	
25	(3)	A-a per	son who:	
26		(A)	is at least 21 years of age or 18 years of age with a Class A commercial driver's license;	
27			Meets one of the following requirements:	
28			(i) Is at least 21 years of age; or	
29			(ii) Is at least 18 years of age with a Class A commercial driver's license;	
30		(B)	Possesses possesses a valid driver's license without restrictions other than for the use of	
31			corrective-lens lenses and has demonstrated evidence of operating a motor vehicle safely	
32			which includes shall not have received a citation in the previous 12 months for operating a	
33			<u>vehicle</u> in a reckless manner or driving while <u>impaired</u> ; impaired in the previous 12 months.	
34			The driving record shall be documented by a certified copy of Division of Motor Vehicles	
35			(DMV) Driver's Record accompanying the application;	

- 1 (C) <u>Possesses possesses and provides with their application documentation of their satisfactory</u>
 2 completion of a defensive driving course <u>that has been approved</u> by the National Safety
 3 <u>Council; and Council or an equivalent course; and</u>
 - (D) Has-has received a certification examination score of at least 75 percent after completing successfully completed the all eight classroom-hours of the North Carolina Department of Transportation-Oversize Overweight Oversize/Overweight Load Escort Vehicle Operator Certification Program. The Oversize/Overweight Load Escort Vehicle Operator Certification Program is-program offered by the North Carolina Community College System. System with a certification examination score of at least 75% correct and has received escort certification by the Department.
 - (e) Certification An authorized operator's certification shall be revoked during its effective period upon any of the following occurrences: for the following:
 - (1) Failure failure to maintain a valid driver's license without restrictions other than for corrective lenses; lens; or
 - (2) Failure to operate a motor vehicle safely as evidenced by receiving a conviction for operating a vehicle in a reckless manner, driving while impaired, or other evidence that the operator performed their escort duties in a manner likely to cause an accident, personal injury, or damage to property. safely. Conviction of operating in a reckless manner or driving while impaired shall constitute prima facie evidence of not operating a motor vehicle in a safe manner; or
 - (3) Evidence of performing the duties of an escort driver in a manner with the potential to cause an accident, personal injury, or damage to property.
 - (f) If certification—is_shall be revoked under pursuant to this Rule,—Section, subsequent certification as an Escort Vehicle Operator shall require reapplication, satisfaction of program prerequisites, and requalification through the certification program.
 - (g) An individual who has had his or her certificate revoked may, may make written appeal within 15 days following notification of the adverse action, make written appeal action to the Secretary of Transportation for review of the revocation. The Secretary may affirm or set aside the revocation based on a review of the written appeal, the revocation decision, as well as any available documents, exhibits, or other evidence bearing on the appeal. The individual appealing will shall be advised of the final disposition of the action within 21 days following receipt of the appeal.
- (h) The Secretary of Transportation or his the Secretary's designee shall only recognize certificates of other states whose if those programs meet the State objectives of North Carolina's as outlined in this Rule and G.S. 20-119.
- 33 program for operators with out of state driver's license.
- (i) Escort Vehicle Operator-certification Certification and a valid driver's license shall be available in the escort vehicle
 for inspection at all times, whenever the operator is performing the role of escort.
- 36 (j) Failure to conform to the escort requirements of this Rule shall result in penalties imposed in G.S. 20 119(d).

1 History Note: Authority G.S. 20-119;

2 Temporary Adoption Eff. March 11, 2002;

3 Eff. April 1, 2003;

4 Amended Eff. April 1, 2009.