The Policy Directory resource focuses primarily on agency-wide policy statements that provide the Department’s administrative approach towards implementing a statute, rule, agency order, or other provision of law or policy. The Department staff responsible for managing the applicable division/unit policy subject matter is identified below. Also included are contacts for NC Administrative Code (Rule-making) and State and Federal Statutes.

Internal Policy Contacts

Attorney General’s Office Beth McKay
Board of Transportation Tereca Batts
Communications Tammy Stewart
Division of Highways Daniel Keel
Division of Motor Vehicles Business Services Laquisha Hunter
Division of Motor Vehicles Field Services – Vehicle Records Sheila Foreman
Division of Motor Vehicles Field Services – Driver Records Patricia Polito
Division of Motor Vehicles Field Services – Human Resources Dawn Godwin
Division of Motor Vehicles License & Theft Bureau Craig Kohlhaas
Division of Motor Vehicles Processing Services – Traffic Records Pam Guptill
Division of Motor Vehicles Processing Services – Hearings & Medical Dan Whittacre
Division of Motor Vehicles Processing Services – Ignition Interlock Jake Joubert
Division of Motor Vehicles Training Deanna Sevits
Environmental Program Jamie Shern
Facilities Management Priscilla Williams
Financial Management Tonya Austin
General Counsel Helen Landi
Global Transpark Anne Stapleford
Governance Aurea Rodriguez
Human Resources Alicia Simmons
Information Technology Al Roethlisberger
Legislative Affairs Mary Jernigan
Office of Inspector General Philip Ayscue
Office of Civil Rights – ADA Program Mark Whisenant
Office of Civil Rights - Business Opportunity Services Eric Miler
Office of Civil Rights – Contractor Utilization & Certification Benny Sloan
Office of Civil Rights – Education Services JoAna McCoy
Office of Civil Rights – EEO/ADA John Eley
Office of Civil Rights – External Services Marci Wright
Office of Civil Rights – Internal Monitoring & Reporting Marci Wright
Office of Civil Rights – On the Job Training Program Melvin Williams
Ports Authority Laura Blair
Program Development Calvin Leggett
Safety & Risk Management – Safety Scott Mabry
Safety & Risk Management – Security William Bryant
Safety & Risk Management – Workers Compensation Katherine Barefoot
Transit – Bicycle & Pedestrian Lauren Blackburn
  John Vine-Hodge
Transit – Division of Aviation Jennifer Fuller
Transit – Ferry Division Jed Dixon
Transit – Public Transportation Tammy Montanez
Transit – Rail Division Sarah McCue
Technical Services Julie Hunkins
Turnpike Authority Marvin Butler
Secretary’s Office Deseree Walker

NC Administrative Code

Helen Landi

Federal and State Statute

Mary Jernigan

Reston Jones