Where to Get an ID

DMV offers identification cards for customers who require a photo ID but do not require a driver license.

To obtain an ID card for the first time, you must visit a driver license office with all the documents required to obtain an ID.

The cost for a standard non-operator ID card is $13, but some IDs are available at no-fee, if a customer qualifies.

To learn more about the ID cards available, click the links below:

All ID cards are mailed to customers, who will receive them within 10 business days. When your application is accepted, you will be provided with a receipt, upon request. Your receipt cannot be used for identification purposes.

Requirements & Documents to Obtain Non-Operator ID Cards

If you are applying for an ID card for the first time in North Carolina you will need to provide proof of your full name, date of birth, residence, Social Security number and documentation indicating your legal presence in the United States.

Approved List of Acceptable Documents

Proof of Age & Identity

You must provide two documents – listed in Table (1) of the approved list of acceptable documents – that provide your full name and date of birth. If you are unable to provide two forms, DMV will review documents that you have in your possession to assist in verifying your identity.

Valid Social Security Number

You must provide a valid Social Security number. If DMV is unable to verify your Social Security number with the Social Security Administration, you may be required to present documentation listed in Table (2) of the approved list of acceptable documents.

Proof of Citizenship & Residency

To obtain a North Carolina ID card, you must be a North Carolina resident. Documents that you may present as proof of residency are listed in Table (3) of the approved list of acceptable documents.

You must also be a U.S. citizen or be able to demonstrate legal presence in the U.S. Documents that may be used to demonstrate legal presence are listed in Tables (7) and (8) of the approved list of acceptable documents.

Requirements & Documents for No-Fee Voter ID Cards

There is no fee for a North Carolina ID card for an individual registered to vote in North Carolina who does not have acceptable photo identification, under North Carolina General Statute §163-166.13.

To obtain a no-fee voter ID card, you must sign a declaration stating that you do not have an acceptable photo ID. If you already have an acceptable photo ID, you are not eligible to receive a no-fee voter ID.

You must also be registered to vote. If you are not a registered voter, DMV will assist you in completing your voter registration application during your visit, and you will still be eligible for your no fee voter ID.

As with any non-operator ID card, you must provide proof of age and identity, a valid Social Security number and proof of citizenship and residency.

Other No-Fee ID Cards

There is no fee for a North Carolina ID card for a resident of the state who is legally blind, is at least 70 years old, is homeless or who has been issued a driver license that has subsequently been canceled as a result of a physical or mental disability or disease.

If a homeless person wishes to obtain a North Carolina ID card without paying a fee, the homeless person must present a letter to DMV from the director of a facility that provides care or shelter to homeless persons verifying that the person is homeless.

As with any non-operator ID card, you must provide proof of age and identity, a valid Social Security number and proof of citizenship and residency.

No-Fee ID Cards for Citizens with Developmental Disabilities

Residents who have been diagnosed with a developmental disability may obtain an identification card at no charge by visiting a local DMV office.

You – or a legal guardian – must complete the Application for Identification Card and have your primary care provider either complete the form's Physician's Section or sign a letter certifying that the applicant has a developmental disability.

As with a non-operator ID card, you must provide proof of age and identity, a valid social security number and proof of citizenship and residency.

Homebound Customer Requests

Residents who are unable to appear at a DMV office because of a severe disability may request homebound assistance in obtaining an identification card.

To be eligible for homebound assistance, the resident must present a letter from a physician certifying that the resident is homebound and must request assistance by one of the methods below:

As with a non-operator ID card, you must provide proof of age and identity, a valid social security number and proof of citizenship and residency.

  • Download the Homebound Customer Request form.
  • Request assistance by calling the Issuance Resolution Unit at (919) 861-3030.
  • Request by visiting any driver license office and turning in the request form.
  • The form may be requested by mail from the Issuance Resolution Unit, 3176 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-3176.