This page contains fee information related to the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles.

For a complete listing of fees & information about all acceptable forms of payment, please contact your local DMV office.

Important Notice: New DMV fees drafted and passed in 2015 by the N. C. General Assembly as part of House Bill 97 went into effect Jan. 1, 2016, and apply to vehicle titles and registrations as well as driver license issuances and renewals. Read more about the fee changes, or view frequently asked questions about House Bill 97.

All North Carolina DMV Fees

Licensing Fees

Cash, money order, personal checks[?] and Visa, MasterCard and Discover credit and debit cards are acceptable forms of payment for transactions at DMV Offices.

Driver License
Class A License [?] $5/yr
Class B License [?] $5/yr
Class C License [?] $5/yr
Duplicate License [?] $13
Motorcycle Endorsement $2.30/yr
Learner Permit
Duplicate Permit $13
Learner Permit $20
Motorcycle Learner Permit $20
Commercial Driver License
Application Fee [?] $40
CDL Endorsement $4/yr per Endorsement
Class A License, CDL [?] $20/yr
Class B License, CDL [?] $20/yr
Class C License, CDL [?] $20/yr
Duplicate License $13
Learner Permit, CDL [?] $20
Graduated Licensing
Duplicate $13
Full Provisional License (Level 3) [?] $5/yr
Limited Learner Permit (Level 1) [?] $20
Limited Provisional License (Level 2) [?] $20
Temporary Permit $20

Licensing Fees, Contact Information

Email Us:

ID Cards

Cash, money order, personal checks[?] and Visa, MasterCard and Discover credit and debit cards are acceptable forms of payment for transactions at DMV Offices.

Other Driver License Fees
Driving Clinic [?] $65
Duplicate ID Card [?] $13
DWI Restoration $130
Identification Card [?] $13
Restoration $65
Service $50

ID Cards, Contact Information

Email Us:

Vehicle Fees

Cash, money order, personal checks[?] and Visa, MasterCard and Discover credit and debit cards are acceptable forms of payment for transactions at DMV Offices.

Title & Registration
Certificate of Title $52
Corrected or Substitute Certificate of Title $20
Duplicate Certificate of Title $20
Duplicate Certificate of Title & Removal of Lien(s) or Duplicate Certificate of Title with Correction $20
Duplicate or Additional Registration Card $20
Duplicate Title with Reassignment $72
Failure to Transfer Title Within 28 Days $20
Financial Responsibility Civil Penalty $50, $100, $150
Financial Responsibility Restoration Fee $50
Financial Responsibility Service Fee $50
Instant Title $98
Manufacturer or Dealer Certificate of Title $20
Recording of Supplemental Lien(s) or Recording Assignment of Lien & Application of Transfer of Lien $20
Removal of Lien(s) from Certificate of Title $20
Replace Registration Plate $20
Repossessor Certificate of Title $20
Salvage Title (Form MVR-40 - Raleigh Office Only) $20
Stock Car Replacement $25
Transfer of Registration $20
Safety & On-Board Diagnostic Inspections
On-Board Diagnostic Emissions Inspection [?] $30
Safety Inspection [?] $13.60
Notary Acknowledgements
One Signature (Contract Agent) $5
One Signature (DMV State Office) $2
Three or More Signatures (Contract Agent) $7
Three or More Signatures (DMV State Office) $4
Two Signatures (Contract Agent) $6
Two Signatures (DMV State Office) $3
License Plates
All Electric Vehicles are subject to a $130 fee in addition to their registration fees $130
Handicapped Placards $5 each
House Trailer and/or Camping Trailer $14
Moped registration fee (Additional fee for these counties: Durham $15, Orange $15, Randolph $1, Wake $5) $24
Motorcycle $24
Permanent & State Owned Plates $6
Personalized Plates $30
Piedmont Authority for Regional Transportation Tax for Vehicles Registered in RANDOLPH County [?] $1
Plate Fee, Private Passenger Vehicles $36
Plate Fee, Private Truck Under 4,000 lbs $36
Plate Fee, Private Truck Under 5,000 lbs $56.50
Plate Fee, Private Truck Under 6,000 lbs $67
Plate Fee, Trailer or Semi-trailer $25
Private Bus (16 Passengers and More) $40
Regional Transportation Authority Registration Tax for Vehicles Registered in WAKE County [?] $5
Transfer of Plate $20
U-Drive-It Car $66
Vehicles Registered in DURHAM Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax $5 County Vehicle Registration Tax $10 [?] $15
Vehicles Registered in ORANGE Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax $5 County Vehicle Registration Tax $10 [?] $15
More Information
Commercial Plates [?] Call 919-715-7000
For Hire Plates [?] Call 919-861-3577
IRP Plates [?] Call 919-861-3720

Vehicle Fees, Contact & Delivery Information

Email Us:
Mail Us:
N. C. Division of Motor Vehicles
3148 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699

Safety & On-Board Diagnostic Inspections, Contact Information

N. C. Taxes

Cash, money order, personal checks[?] and Visa, MasterCard and Discover credit and debit cards are acceptable forms of payment for transactions at DMV Offices.

Highway Use Tax
Tax, Commercial Vehicles 26,001 lbs and over [?] Max $2000
Tax, Mobile Homes (Collected by Selling Dealers) [?] 2% Sales Tax, Max $300
Tax, Out-of-State Residents [?] Max $250
Tax, Special Mobile Equipment [?] 7% Sales Tax CHECK. RALEIGH WINDOW. DONE BY COUNTY
Tax, Vehicles [?] 3% Highway Use Tax

Record Fees

Cash, money order, personal checks[?] and Visa, MasterCard and Discover credit and debit cards are acceptable forms of payment for transactions at DMV Offices.

Driving Record
Certified True Copy (Complete Driver History) $14
Complete Extract Copy $10
Limited Extract Copy (3 years) $10
Vehicle Record
Certified True Copy $14
Vehicle Information $1
Crash Report
Certified Copy $5

Driving Record, Contact & Delivery Information

Email Us:
Visit Us:
Mail Us:
N. C. DMV Driver License Records
3113 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3113

Certified True Copy, Contact & Delivery Information

Visit Us:
Mail Us:
N. C. Division of Motor Vehicles
3157 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3157

Vehicle Information, Contact & Delivery Information

Visit Us:
Mail Us:
N. C. DMV Request for Motor Vehicle Information
3148 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3148

Crash Report, Contact & Delivery Information

Email Us:
Visit Us:
Mail Us:
N. C. DMV Traffic Records Section
3105 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-3105