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North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles 
MVR-16A 

Application for Transporter Registration and Plates (Rev. 09/17) 

ATTENTION:  Incomplete or unsigned applications will be returned. 

You must choose one: Business Individual 

Owner 1 NC DL or ID# ___________

Owner 2 NC DL or ID# ___________

   ________________________________________________________________
 Business Name or Full Legal Name of Owner (First Middle Last) 

   ________________________________________________________________
 Business Name or Full Legal Name of Owner (First Middle Last) 

Business Address (Firm) or Residence Address (Individual): 

____________________________________________________________________________ __________ 
County Street, City, Zip Code        

Mailing Address (if different from above): 

____________________________________________________________________________ __________ 
Street, City, Zip Code County 

_______________________________ 
(Office) Area Code-Telephone Number 

___________________________________
(Home) Area Code – Telephone Number 

I have financial responsibility as required by law: 

___________________________________       _______________________          _________________________
        NC Insurance Company                                          Policy Number Number of Plates Insured

Number of Plate(s) Requested: __________ 
I am qualified to obtain this plate(s) under 
qualification number(s) _____________ 
(Listed on the reverse side) 

If #3 or #10 were selected, you must declare your NC Dealer Number:____________________ or the name of your
repair facility:_____________________________________________

If #8 was selected, you must indicate the following:
NC Title number:________________________  Year__________ Make____________  Model___________
NC Title number:________________________  Year__________ Make____________  Model___________
NC Title number:________________________  Year__________ Make____________  Model___________

**If you have more than three vehicles to list under qualification #8, please submit a separate form. 

I certify that this application and the information contained above is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and 
further acknowledge that making false application or providing false information on this application is a Class I Felony 
pursuant to G.S. 20-71 and G.S. 20-177. 

Date  Applicant’s signature Applicant's typed/handprinted name 

FEE: $18.00 per plate. **See below for additional charges:

$19.00 per plate for Randolph County Residents. ($1.00 Piedmont Authority for Regional Transporation (PART) Tax) 

$33.00 per plate for Durham, Orange, and Wake County Residents. ($8.00 for Regional Transit Authority (RTA) 
Tax & $7.00 for County Vehicle Registration Tax.)       

    Return application and fee to:

North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, 3148 Mail Service Center, Raleigh NC 27697
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REQUIREMENTS AND CONSIDERATIONS FOR OBTAINING A TRANSPORTER PLATE 

G.S. 20-79.2 – A business or a dealer licensed pursuant to Article 12 of Chapter 20 requiring the limited operation of 
a motor vehicle of any of the following purposes may obtain a transporter plate authorizing the movement of the 
vehicle for the specific purpose: 

1. To a business or a dealer to facilitate the manufacture, construction, rebuilding or delivery of new or used truck
cabs or bodies between manufacturer, dealer, seller, or purchaser. 

2. To a financial institution that has a recorded lien on a motor vehicle to repossess the motor vehicle.

3. To  a dealer or repair facility to pick up and deliver a motor vehicle that is to be repaired, is to undergo a safety or
emission inspection, or is to otherwise be prepared for sale by a dealer, to road-test the vehicle, if it is repaired or 
inspected within a 20-mile radius of the place where it is repaired or inspected, and to deliver the vehicle to the 
dealer.  A repair facility may not receive more than two transporter plates for this  purpose. 

4. To a business that has at least 10 registered vehicles to move a motor vehicle that is owned by the business and
is a replaced vehicle offered for sale.  

5. To a dealer or a business that contracts with a dealer and has a business privilege license to take a motor
vehicle either to or from a motor vehicle auction where the vehicle will be or was offered for sale. The title to the 
vehicle, a bill of sale, or written authorization from the dealer or auction must be inside the vehicle when the vehicle 
is operated with a transporter plate. 

6. To a business or dealer to road test a repaired truck whose GVWR is at least 15,000 pounds when the test is
performed within a 10 mile radius of the place where the truck was repaired and the truck is owned by a person who 
has a fleet of at least 5 trucks whose GVWR’s are at least 15,000 pounds and who maintains the place where the 
truck was repaired. 

7. To a business or dealer to  move a mobile office, a mobile classroom, or mobile or manufactured home, or to
transport a newly manufactured travel trailer, fifth-wheel trailer, or camping trailer between a manufacturer and a 
dealer.  Any transporter plate used under this subdivision may not be used on the power unit. 

8. To a business to drive a motor vehicle that is registered in this State and is at least 35 years old to and from a
parade or another public event and to drive the motor vehicle in that event.  A person who owns one of these motor 
vehicles is considered to be in the business of collecting those vehicles. 

9. To a dealer to drive a motor vehicle that is part of the inventory of a dealer to and from a motor vehicle trade
show or exhibition or to, during, and from a parade in which the motor vehicle is used.  

10. To drive special mobile equipment in any of the following circumstances:  From the manufacturer of the
equipment to a facility of a dealer, from one facility of a dealer to another facility of a dealer, or from a dealer to the 
person who buys the equipment of the dealer. 

Article 3, Motor Vehicle Act of 1937, § 20-71. Altering or forging certificate of title, registration card or application, 
a felony; reproducing or possessing blank certificate of title. 
(a) Any person who, with fraudulent intent, shall alter any certificate of title, registration card issued by the Division, 
or any application for a certificate of title or registration card, or forge or counterfeit any certificate of title or 
registration card purported to have been issued by the Division under the provisions of this Article, or who, with 
fraudulent intent, shall alter, falsify or forge any assignment thereof, or who shall hold or use any such certificate, 
registration card, or application, or assignment, knowing the same to have been altered, forged or falsified, shall be 
guilty of a felony and upon conviction thereof shall be punished in the discretion of the court. 
(b) It shall be unlawful for any person with fraudulent intent to reproduce or possess a blank North Carolina 
certificate of title or facsimile thereof. Any person, firm or corporation violating the provisions of this section shall be 
guilty of a Class I felony. (1937, c. 407, s. 35; 1959, c. 1264, s. 2; 1971, c. 99; 1975, c. 716, s. 5; 1979, c. 499; 1993, 
c. 539, s. 1251; 1994, Ex. Sess., c. 24, s. 14(c).)
Article 3, Motor Vehicle Act of 1937, § 20-177. Penalty for felony. 
Any person who shall be convicted of a violation of any of the provisions of this Article herein or by the laws of 
this State declared to constitute a felony shall, unless a different penalty is prescribed herein or by the laws of this 
State, be punished as a Class I felon. (1937, c. 407, s. 138; 1979, c. 760, s. 5; 1979, 2nd Sess., c. 1316, s. 47; 
1981, c. 63, s. 1; c. 179, s. 14.) 


	North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles�Application for Transporter Registration and Plates�
	Slide Number 2

	Owner 1 NC DL or ID: 
	Business Name or Full Legal Name of Owner First Middle Last: 
	Owner 2 NC DL or ID: 
	Business Name or Full Legal Name of Owner First Middle Last_2: 
	Street City Zip Code: 
	County: 
	Street City Zip Code_2: 
	County_2: 
	Office Area CodeTelephone Number: 
	Home Area Code  Telephone Number: 
	Insurance Company authorized in NC: 
	Number of Plates Requested: 
	Listed on the reverse side: 
	repair facility: 
	NC Title number: 
	Year: 
	Make: 
	Model: 
	NC Title number_2: 
	Year_2: 
	Make_2: 
	Model_2: 
	Year_3: 
	Make_3: 
	Model_3: 
	Date: 
	Check Box1: Off
	Check Box2: Off
	Dealer Number: 
	NC Title number 3: 
	Applicant's typed/handprinted name: 
	Policy Number: 
	Number of Plates Insured: 


