General Information

As of July 1, 2015, North Carolina law requires all mopeds that are operated on a state maintained road to be registered. If operated on or after that date without proper registration, you could be cited by law enforcement.

Frequently Asked Questions

Updated June 3, 2016

Get answers to common questions about registering a moped. For additional questions or more information, send a message.

Am I required to register my moped? 

Yes. The new law requires registration for all mopeds operated on a state-maintained road.

When do I have to register my moped? 

As of July 1, 2015, North Carolina law requires all mopeds that are operated on a state maintained road to be registered. If operated on or after that date without proper registration, you could be cited by law enforcement.

Does my moped need insurance? 

Yes. As of July 1, 2016, North Carolina law requires that all registered mopeds have liability insurance coverage with limits no less than $30,000/$60,000/$25,000. Failure to maintain liability insurance coverage constitutes a lapse and may result in the revocation of your valid North Carolina license plate.

What do I need to register my moped? 
Will I get a title for my moped? 

No. This is a registration-only process, so no title will be issued.

How much does registration cost? 

The moped registration fee is $24, which includes the plate. The following counties charge an additional transit fee:

    Durham $15
    Orange $15
    Randolph $1
    Wake $5
Does my moped need an annual inspection? 

No. Mopeds do not require an annual inspection.

How old do I have to be to legally operate a moped?  

The minimum age to legally operate a moped in North Carolina is 16 (G.S. 20-10.1).

Do I have to wear a helmet while driving or riding on a moped? 

Yes. Operators and passengers of mopeds are required to wear a helmet (G.S. 20-140.4).

Do I have to pay vehicle property tax? 

No. Property tax is not collected on mopeds at this time.

Do I need to renew my moped’s registration each year? 

Yes. You can renew your moped’s registration in one of three ways:

Will I be penalized if I don’t renew by the expiration date? 

You will not be charged a late fee if you don’t renew the registration on your moped by the expiration date.

Can I transfer a plate from one moped to another? 

Yes, as long as both mopeds are registered in your name.

Does an ignition interlock device have to be installed if I am required to have one? 

No. Ignition interlock devices are not required on mopeds.

Can I get a personalized plate for my moped? 

Yes. Personalized plates are available for mopeds.

Can I get a specialty plate for my moped? 

No. Specialty plates are not available for mopeds.

Can I get a handicapped plate for my moped? 

Yes. Handicapped plates are available for mopeds.

My moped does not have a vehicle identification number. How do I obtain one? 

Contact a License & Theft office to apply for a new vehicle identification number for your moped.