
COUNTY

DATE

APPLICANT SECTION

MVR-37AA (Rev. 06/16) 
Fee $5.00 Each (Limit 2)

APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL OF DISABILITY PARKING PLACARD

North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles
3148 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-3148

Application instructions:
1. Applicant must complete and sign only the applicant section.

- Parent may sign for minors. 
- If signing with a Power of Attorney, a certified copy must be attached or

shown at the time of issuance.

 OR TOTAL AND PERMANENT DISABILITY PARKING PLACARD

2. Physician must complete and sign the physician's section if applicable or 
present documentation from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

3. Application and fee ($5.00 per placard) can be mailed to the address
above with a check or money order made payable to NCDMV. 

      American Heart Association

      Is severely limited in their ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition
      Is totally blind or whose vision with glasses is so defective as to prevent the performance of ordinary activity for which eyesight is essential, as certified by a licensed

Find local DMV License Plate Agencies at www.ncdot.gov/dmv

Disability parking placards and license plates are governed by the Motor Vehicle Laws of North Carolina General Statute Chapter 20, Article 2A. Afflicted, Disabled or

APPLICANT'S ID NUMBER APPLICANT'S NAME

STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE

MAILING ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT FROM ABOVE

PHONE NUMBER APPLICANT'S/ORGANIZATION REPRESENTATIVE'S SIGNATURE

Placard 1 ___________    Issued __________     Expires ___________ Placard 2 ___________    Issued __________     Expires ___________  

PHYSICIAN'S SECTION

G. S. 20-37.6 (a) General Parking – Any vehicle that is driven by or is transporting a person who is handicapped and that displays a distinguishing 
license plate, a removable windshield placard, or a temporary removable windshield placard may be parked for unlimited periods in parking zones 
restricted as to the length of time parking is permitted. This provision has no application to those zones or during times in which the stopping, 
parking or standing of all vehicles is prohibited or which are reserved for special types of vehicles. Any qualifying vehicle may park in spaces 
designated as restricted to vehicles driven by or transporting the handicapped.

PHYSICIAN'S LICENSE NUMBER PATIENT'S PRINTED NAME

Rules that govern the Parking Placard for the Afflicted, Disabled or Handicapped Persons. 

• The placard is portable from one vehicle to another.
• Hang the placard from the rearview mirror or place on the driver’s side dash if there is no rearview mirror.
• The placard registration card must remain with each placard while in use.
• The fee is $20.00 to replace the registration card for your placard if it becomes lost.
• The fee to replace a lost/stolen placard itself is $5.00.
• Damaged placards will be replaced at no fee.
• Any organization certified by State Vocational Rehabilitation Agency that regularly transports handicapped persons may apply. G. S. 20-37.6 (c)

PHYSICIAN'S PRINTED NAME PHYSICIAN'S PHONE NUMBER

 PHYSICIAN'S RECERTIFICATION REQUIRED  PHYSICIAN'S RECERTIFICATION NOT REQUIRED

Parking Privileges for Handicapped Drivers and Passengers

PHYSICIAN'S SIGNATURE PHYSICIAN'S ADDRESS
      ophthalmologist, optometrist, or the Division of Services for the Blind

Handicapped Persons. G. S. 20-37.5 Definitions (2) "Handicapped" shall mean a person with a mobility impairment who, as determined by a licensed physician:
(check all that apply)             
      Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest
      Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device
      Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person’s forced (respiratory) expiratory volume of one second,  when measured by spirometry, is less than one
      liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest
      Uses portable oxygen 
      Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by the

4. You can also renew at your local License Plate Agency.
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