driving to visit with family or friends this Thanksgiving, don't be a turkey.
Wear your seat belt, or face a $161 fine.
That was the message shared today in Wilmington where the Governor's Highway Safety Program
kicked off the Thanksgiving "Click It or Ticket" campaign. Officers across the
state are stepping up enforcement efforts through Sunday, Dec. 1, to catch
motorists who do not buckle up.
"The simple act of fastening your seat belt will not only
save you the cost of an expensive ticket, but it could also save your life,"
said Don Nail, director of the Governor's Highway Safety Program. "Wearing a
seat belt during a crash reduces chances of suffering critical injuries or death
by 50 percent."
The N.C. Department of Transportation
echoed that sentiment in a public service
announcement airing now online and on local radio stations, warning drivers
in North Carolina that it is "Click It or Ticket."
In May, the Governor's Highway Safety Program celebrated the
20th anniversary of "Click It or Ticket." The celebration continued with the
announcement last month that seat belt usage statewide rose from 87.5 percent
to 88.6 percent in the past year. The increase is a significant step in the
right direction, but the Governor's Highway Safety Program will not stop
working until every driver in North Carolina clicks their seat belt.
Photo of Capt. Bobby Worley of the Columbus County Sheriff's Office speaking at kick-off event
Graphic illustrating the expense of a seat belt ticket