RALEIGH Seat Check Saturday marks the conclusion of Child Passenger Safety week, and the N.C. Department of Transportation and the Governor's Highway Safety Program remind parents there is still time to ensure your child is in the right child safety seat.
On Saturday, Sept. 20, parents and caregivers can stop at one of 87 permanent checking stations across the state, where nationally certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians will check their car seats and booster seats to be sure they are properly installed and appropriate for the child's age, weight and height. For a list of locations participating in Seat Check Saturday, as well as those offering seat check services year-round, visit BuckleUpNC.org.
Nationwide, vehicle crashes are the leading killer of children 1 to 13 years old. In 2013, more than 54,000 children under the age of 16 were involved in car crashes on North Carolina highways. Of the 36 children killed in those crashes, 25 percent were not secured in a child safety seat or wearing a seat belt.
The North Carolina Child Passenger Safety Law requires children younger than age 16 to be properly restrained in an age, weight and height appropriate restraint.
To learn more about Child Passenger Safety Week and the state's occupant restraint laws, visit the GHSP website or BuckleUpNC.org.