skip to main
Close Menu

NCDOT Ferry System Reestablishes Pamlico Sound Service; Reentry Restrictions In Place

(MANNS HARBOR) - The North Carolina Department of Transportation's Ferry Division will resume service to Ocracoke from Swan Quarter and Cedar Island this afternoon (July 4). However, Hyde County Emergency Management Officials have placed the following restrictions on reentry to Ocracoke Island:

Friday, July 4: Critical infrastructure needs only. No returning residents, no visitors. Saturday, July 5: Critical infrastructure needs and retuning residents only. No visitors. Sunday, July 6: Critical infrastructure needs and returning residents. Visitors may be allowed in depending on status of recovery.

Residents and visitors will be allowed to depart Ocracoke for Cedar Island or Swan Quarter at any time. Tolls will be waived for motorists leaving Ocracoke as long as the voluntary evacuation order remains in place.

All current reservations on these days will be canceled. Ferries will operate on a first-come, first-served basis.

The Pamlico Sound schedule for today, July 4, is as follows:

Swan Quarter to Ocracoke: 1 p.m. and 4:30 p.m. Ocracoke to Swan Quarter: 12:45 p.m. and 4 p.m.

Ocracoke to Cedar Island: 4:30 p.m and 8 p.m. Cedar Island to Ocracoke: 1 p.m., 4 p.m., and 5:30 p.m.

The Ferry Division will resume its regular Pamlico Sound schedule tomorrow, July 5.


2/15/2018 5:23 PM