skip to main
Close Menu

NCDMV Installs New License and Theft Inspectors

RALEIGH - The NCDMV License and Theft Bureau held graduation ceremonies on Friday, Dec. 2 for its 21st Basic Inspector Class at the N.C. Justice Academy in Salemburg, N.C. Fifteen new inspectors will be assigned to various regions of the state and will join 186 other inspectors who primarily investigate vehicle theft, title fraud, driver license ID card fraud, and vehicle odometer fraud.

"Governor McCrory and I want to express our pride to both the experience and expertise of these License and Theft inspector graduates," said DMV Commissioner Kelly J. Thomas. "They are a great example of dedication and training."

Cadets interrupted their rigorous training schedule in October following Hurricane Matthew to assist with recovery efforts in eastern North Carolina.

The new inspectors are: Karen Dalton, Latitia Wade, Eileen Horsmon, Chad Harper, Karen Scott, Joshua Jolly, Charles Powers, Stephanie Barnes, Ryan Davis, Brandon Sykes, Justin Landis, Adrian Mathews, Bobby Holloway, Hakeem Brown and James Blackburn.

The inspectors enforce the rules and regulations governing vehicle dealers, vehicle safety and emissions inspection stations, vehicle towing and storage facilities, and vehicle repair businesses.

The License and Theft Bureau was created in 1921 by the N.C. General Assembly. It is the oldest state law enforcement agency in North Carolina.


2/19/2018 7:47 AM