skip to main
Close Menu

Two New Members Join N.C. Board of Transportation

Raleigh - Two new members of the N.C. Board of Transportation were sworn-in during the May 4 board meeting in Raleigh. N.C. Supreme Court Associate Justice Michael Morgan administered the oath of office.

William "Billy" Clarke of Buncombe County will serve as the board member representing Division 13, which includes Buncombe, Burke, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Rutherford and Yancey counties.

Clarke has nearly 30 years of experience in environmental law representing local governments and private clients. He is a native of western North Carolina and graduated from Princeton and the UNC School of Law.

Douglas "Allen" Moran represents Division 1, which is comprised of Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington counties.

Moran serves with the Dare County Sheriff's Office as the manager of the county's detention center. He is a native of Dare County and also serves as the vice chair of the Roanoke Island Community Center Board.

The two new members were nominated by Governor Roy Cooper in March. They will serve four-year terms.

The Board of Transportation is comprised of 19 men and women from across the state, representing each of the N.C. Department of Transportation's 14 geographical divisions and five areas of statewide interest. The members work with NCDOT staff to make decisions about transportation policies and priorities.

Billy Clarke

Allen Moran


2/19/2018 7:47 AM