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/O)L.’ parents ¢ caregivers ¢ child passenger safety advocates ¢ educators

Use this site to learn about North Carolina’s
seat belt and child passenger safety laws. You
will also find recommendations for keeping
everybody in the car as safe as possible.

Many community programs offer information,
teach parents and other caregivers how to use
their restraints correctly, and offer the “hands
on” service of checking to make sure child
restraints are installed and used correctly. Use
the buckleupnc.org site to find child passenger
safety and seat belt information and technical
assistance in your community.
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‘Welcome to the web site of the North Carolina Child Passenger Safety
Resource Center.
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North Carolina Laws:

NC has three occupant restraint laws. Their
basic requirements are as follows:

 All drivers and passengers, regardless
of age, must be properly buckled up in
vehicles required to have seat belts.

Children younger than age 8 and who weigh less
than 80 pounds must be properly secured in a child
restraint or booster seat.

Children less than age 5 and less than 40 pounds
must be in the rear seat if the vehicle has an active
passenger-side front air bag and a rear seat.

When a child reaches age 8 (regardless of weight)
or 80 pounds (regardless of age), a correctly fitted
seat belt may be used instead of a child restraint
or booster seat. Placing the shoulder belt under the
arm or behind the back is both illegal and unsafe.

Booster seats must not be used with just a lap belt,
so lap-only seat belts can be used for children over 40
pounds if no lap and shoulder seat belt is available.

Children less than age 16 are prohibited from riding
in the open bed of a pickup truck or other open
cargo area.

Drivers are legally responsible for themselves and all
children less than age 16 in the vehicle.

The penalty for not complying with the Child Re-
straint/Booster Seat law is 2 driver license points, a
$25 fine and at least $120 court costs.
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Recommendations for a child’s best protection:

1. Use rear-facing child restraints as long as possible, but at least until age
two for maximum protection. Children are five times safer riding rear-facing
than forward-facing into the second year of life. Most current convertible
models can—and should—be used rear-facing up to at least 30 pounds.

2. Once a child is turned to face the front of the car, use a child restraint with
a harness until the harness is outgrown, from 40-80 pounds, depending
on the model.

3. Once a child outgrows the harness, use a belt-positioning booster seat until
the child is large enough for the seat belt to fit correctly.

4. Use seat belts for older children only when they are large enough for both
the lap and shoulder belts to fit correctly.

For all seats, always check height and weight limits. Whenever possible,
keep children younger than age 13 buckled up in a rear seat of the vehicle.
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