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Did you know?
•	 Do not allow more passengers in your car than you 

have seat belts for them to use.

•	 North Carolina prohibits ALL drivers from texting or 

reading a text message while a vehicle is in motion.

•	 In 2011, there were more than 42,000 crashes that 

involved teen drivers, resulting in more than 12,000 

injuries and 111 deaths. 

•	 How much does it cost if you receive a ticket for not 

wearing your seat belt?

•	 $25.50, plus court costs of $135.50 

•	 Backseat passengers 16 and older not buckled will 

receive a $10 fine.

•	 No driver license or insurance points are assessed.



Parent/Guardian and Student Parking Privilege Agreement
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The Governor’s Highway Safety Program has 
developed a program to ensure that teen drivers 
and passengers use their seat belts. Student 
drivers who do not buckle up and/or whose 
passengers are not safely restrained will risk 
losing on-campus parking privileges.  It is 
recommended that student drivers and their 
parent or guardian sign this agreement prior 
to the student obtaining a parking pass to park 
their vehicle on campus.

The level of enforcement and punishment can be 
determined by the school. This model is only a 
suggestion for implementation.

The first time a student driver is observed driving on 
campus not buckled or has unbuckled passengers in 
the car, he or she will receive a written warning. 
•	 The student and their parent or guardian must 

sign and return the written warning to ensure 
continued access to on-campus parking.

 
A second violation will result in a one-week (five 
consecutive school days) loss of parking privileges. 
•	 The written violation will require the signature 

of the student and their parent or guardian to 
restore on-campus parking privileges after one 
week. 

If a removable parking pass is administered by the 
school, the school will retain the pass until the 
suspension is complete.  

A third violation will result in a two-week (10 
consecutive school days) loss of parking privileges. 
•	 The written violation will require the signature 

of the student and their parent or guardian to 
restore on-campus parking privileges after 
two-weeks. 

•	 If a removable parking pass is administered by 
the school, the school will retain the pass until 
the suspension is complete. 

 
A fourth violation will result in a one-month (20  
consecutive school days) loss of parking privileges. 
•	 The written violation will require the signature 

of the student and their parent or guardian to 
restore on-campus parking privileges after one 
week. 

•	 If a removable parking pass is administered by 
the school, the school will retain the pass until 
the suspension is complete. 

Did you know?
•	 It is against the law in North Carolina for drivers under the age of 18 to use a mobile phone or any technology associated with a mobile telephone while a vehicle is in motion.

•	 In North Carolina, the law now requires ALL persons in a vehicle wear seat belts. There are no longer age exceptions for passengers in the back seat.
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