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                      ‘CLICK IT OR TICKET’ CAMPAIGN NETS 18,384 OCCUPANT
PROTECTION CHARGES

$1.5 Million Seized in Vance County During Checkpoint

RALEIGH — More than 18,000 drivers and passengers were cited for safety belt and child passenger
safety violations during the spring “Click It or Ticket” campaign, which began May 22 and ended June
4.

The final statewide tally for the campaign includes a total of 16,890 safety belt citations and 1,494
child passenger safety citations.  State and local law enforcement officers issued the citations during
nearly 7,200 checkpoints and stepped-up patrols. During a checkpoint in Vance County $1,550,000
was seized by officers from the Henderson Police Department and the Vance County Sheriff’s Office.

North Carolina’s buckle-up rate for drivers and passengers is 86.7 percent.  Nationally, nearly 18
percent of drivers and passengers still fail to wear their safety belt while driving or riding in a motor
vehicle.

"Although North Carolina's safety belt usage rate is the highest ever, the number of violations issued
during this campaign shows that there are still motorists out there not following the law," said Darrell
Jernigan, director of the Governor's Highway Safety Program. "Law enforcement officers have done an
outstanding job the last two weeks and we hope that their efforts will encourage more North
Carolinians buckle up."

Counties with the highest occupant restraint charges include Mecklenburg (2,441), Wake (2,142),
Robeson (521) and New Hanover (504).

In addition to cracking down on unrestrained drivers and passengers, officers across the state charged
2,110 motorists with driving while impaired. Wake County recorded the highest number of DWI
violations, with 251 impaired driving arrests. Officers issued a total of  7,474 criminal violations,
including 1,761 drug charges, 141 stolen vehicles and 699 fugitives captured.
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(May. 22-28)
3,405 947 8,397 2,439 24,240 36,944

(May 29-June 4)
3,736 1,163 9,987 5,035 35,258 52,493

(TOTAL)  7,141 2,110 18,384 7,474 59,498 89,437

###

For a complete schedule of “Click It or Ticket” events and activities, or for information regarding this
or other North Carolina highway safety issues, call GHSP public information officer Beth Horner at

919-733-3083 or visit their Web site at: www.ncdot.org/secretary/ghsp.


