North Carolina Future Investment Resources for Sustainable Transportation Commission

CO-CHAIR

The Honorable Nancy McFarlane Ward Nye

ADVISORY MEMBERS

James Trogdon, Secretary Anthony Lathrop



MEMBERS

Aaron Chatterji, Ph.D.
The Honorable Janet Cowell
Jesse Cureton
Stephen De May
The Honorable Julie Eiselt
Peter Hans
The Honorable William Lapsley
The Honorable Brenda Lyerly
Sallie Shuping-Russell
Kim Saunders
Michael Walden, Ph.D.
Patrick Woodie

AGENDA

8:45 AM, Friday, February 28, 2020

NCDOT Headquarters, Room 150

1 South Wilmington Street, Raleigh, North Carolina

I. Call to Order

Ward Nye

II. NC Moves Financial Model

Alpesh Patel, Senior Associate/ Office Director, Integrated Planning and Policy Cambridge Systematics

David Jackson, Principal Cambridge Systematics

- III. Highway Tolling
 - A. Tolling Models around the World

Bob Poole, Director of Transportation Policy Reason Foundation

B. Tolling in North Carolina

JJ Eden, Executive Director NC Turnpike Authority

IV. Energy Taxes

A. Carbon Tax

Billy Pizer, Ph.D., Professor, Sanford School of Public Policy and Fellow, Nicholas Institute for Environmental Policy Solutions, Duke University

B. Electricity/Electric Vehicle Taxes

Amna Cameron, Commission Staff

BREAK

- V. Real and Personal Property Taxes
 - A. County Assessments

Michael Connolly, Assistant Director, Local Government Division North Carolina Department of Revenue

B. Potential State Applications

Amna Cameron, Commission Staff

VI. Value Capture Options

Sasha Page, Principal IMG Rebel

VII. Weight-Based Taxes

Jaime Rall, Commission Staff

VIII. Occupancy Tax

Amna Cameron, Commission Staff

IX. Commission Discussion

Ward Nye

Announcements

Next Meeting: Friday, April 24, 2020 at 9:00 AM in Greensboro This meeting will be live streamed on NC FIRST Commission website at www.ncdot.gov/ncfirst