MVR-37 (Rev. 06/23) Fee: Regular Plate Fee



APPLICATION FOR DISABILITY LICENSE PLATE North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles 3148 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27697-3148

www.ncdot.gov/dmv

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

1. Applicants must complete and sign only the applicant section.

- Guardian/Parent may sign for handicapped or disabled person.

- If signing with a Power of Attorney, a certified copy must be attached or shown at the time of issuance.

2. Medical provider must complete and sign the medical provider's section if applicable or present documentation from the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Application and fee can be taken to your local License Plate Agency where same day service is available. The application can be mailed to the address above with a check or money order made payable to NCDMV. Please allow 3-4 weeks to receive the placard.
Medical recertification is required every five years when certification is made by a guardian or parent.

APPLICANT SECTION								
YEAR	MAKE	BODY STYLE	SERIES MODEL	VEH	VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER			
APPLICANT'S NC DRIVER LICENSE / ID NUMBER			APPLICANT'S/ORGANIZATION'S PRINTED NAME					
STREET ADDRESS								
CITY			STATE	ZIP CODE	COUNTY			
MAILING ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT FROM ABOVE		PHONE NUMBER						
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT			APPLICANT'S/ORGANIZATION REPRESENTATIVE'S SIGNATURE					
GUARDIAN OR PARENT SECTION								
I certify that I am the registered owner of the vehicle and the guardian or parent of a handicapped person. G.S. 20-37.6(b)								
SIGNATURE OF GUARDIAN OR PARENT			PRI	PRINTED NAME OF GUARDIAN OR PARENT				
MEDICAL PROVIDER'S SECTION								

Disability license plates are governed by the Motor Vehicle Laws of North Carolina General Statute Chapter 20, Article 2A. Afflicted, Disabled or Handicapped Persons. G. S. 20-37.5 Definitions (2) "Handicapped" shall mean a person with a mobility impairment who, as determined by a licensed medical provider:

- Cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest.
- Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, a brace, cane, crutch, another person, prosthetic device, wheelchair, or other assistive device.
- Is restricted by lung disease to such an extent that the person's forced (respiratory) expiratory volume of one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60 mm/hg on room air at rest.
- Uses portable oxygen.
- Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations are classified in severity as Class III or Class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association.
- Is severely limited in their ability to walk due to an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition.
- Is totally blind or whose vision with glasses is so defective as to prevent the performance of ordinary activity for which eyesight is essential, as certified by a licensed ophthalmologist, optometrist, or the Division of Services for the Blind.

The medical provider certifies that the applicant qualifies for a disability license plate based on one of the conditions listed above.

Medical certification and recertification requirements for a disability license plate must be satisfied by the certification of a licensed physician, a licensed ophthalmologist, a licensed optometrist, a licensed physician assistant, a licensed nurse practitioner, or the Division of Services for the Blind or by a disability determination by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs that the applicant is handicapped.

MEDICAL PROVIDER'S SIGNATURE		MEDICAL PROVIDER'S PRINTED NAME		
MEDICAL PROVIDER'S ADDRESS	i			
STREET ADDRESS				
СІТҮ	STATE	ZIP CODE	COUNTY	
MEDICAL PROVIDER'S PHONE NUMBER	MEDICAL PF	MEDICAL PROVIDER'S LICENSE NUMBER		
PATIENT'S PRINTED NAME	DATE			