MVR-58
(Rev. 10/16)

North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles
AFFIDAVIT OF FACTS FOR THE REGISTRATION OF A MOPED

North Carolina General Statute 20-4.01 (27)(D1) defines a moped as, "A vehicle, other than a motor-driven bicycle or
electric assisted bicycle, that has two or three wheels, no external shifting device, and a motor that does not exceed 50
cubic centimeters piston displacement and cannot propel the vehicle at a speed greater than 30 miles per hour on a level
surface. The motor may be powered by electricity, alternative fuel, motor fuel or a combination of each."

Instructions: The following questions must be answered in detail and this form must be presented as an application for the
registration of a moped for which a Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin cannot be furnished. Furnish any documents in your
possession that will show proof of ownership. Examples include titles, bill of sale, conditional sales contract, invoices, or out
of state registrations.

A valid North Carolina Driver License or North Carolina ID Card must be presented when applying for registration.

VEHICLE SECTION

MAKE BODY STYLE |VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER*
MOPED

OWNER SECTION

OWNER 11D # FULL LEGAL NAME OF OWNER

OWNER 2 ID # FULL LEGAL NAME OF OWNER

STREET ADDRESS

CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY

MAILING ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT FROM ABOVE VEHICLE LOCATION IF DIFFERENT FROM ABOVE

| certify for the moped described above that | have financial responsibility as required by law.

Insurance company authorized in N.C Policy Number

1. | attest to the following: (Must Initial)
(a) This vehicle has two or three wheels, no external shifting device and a motor that does not exceed 50 cubic centimeters piston

displacement. (owner's initials)
(b) This vehicle cannot propel at a speed greater than 30 miles per hour on a level surface. (owner's initials)
2. 1 am the true and legal owner of the above described moped. | acquired the vehicle on or about , 20

3. From whom did you purchase this vehicle? (check one):

O Private Party (Individual) - Name Address

O Business - Name Address

4. 1 do not have a Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin because (check one):
O One was not provided to me by the dealer at the time of purchase; or

O Moped was purchased used from individual

O Other (explain):

| affirm under penalty of perjury and/or punishment pursuant to N.C.G.S. 20-112, that the foregoing information is based upon my
personal knowledge and is true and accurate to the best of my knowledge.

Signature of Owner(s)

Date County State

| certify that the following person(s) personally appeared before me this day, each acknowledging to me that he or she voluntarily signed the
foregoing document for the purpose stated herein and in the capacity indicated:

(name(s) of principal(s) ).

Notary Notary Printed
Signature or Typed Name
(SEAL) My Commission Expires

*If the VIN cannot be located, you will need to contact your local NCDMV License & Theft Inspector.



	YEAR: 
	BODY STYLE: 
	VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER: 
	OWNER 1 ID: 
	FULL LEGAL NAME OF OWNER: 
	OWNER 2 ID: 
	FULL LEGAL NAME OF OWNER_2: 
	STREET ADDRESS: 
	CITY: 
	STATE: 
	ZIP CODE: 
	COUNTY: 
	MAILING ADDRESS IF DIFFERENT FROM ABOVE: 
	VEHICLE LOCATION IF DIFFERENT FROM ABOVE: 
	Insurance company authorized in NC: 
	Policy Number: 
	Private Party Individual   Name: 
	Address: 
	Business   Name: Off
	Address_2: 
	One was not provided to me by the dealer at the time of purchase or: Off
	Moped was purchased used from individual: Off
	Other explain: Off
	Date: 
	County: 
	State: 
	names of principals: 
	or Typed Name: 
	My Commission Expires: 
	owner's initials: 
	YY: 
	month: 
	Business - Name: 
	explain: 


