skip to main
Close Menu

Prized Pollinators: 2022 Wildflower Awards


RALEIGH- As you drive along the highways of North Carolina, bright pops of color may catch your eye. These colors are the result of the N.C. Department of Transportation's Wildflower Program. For over 37 years, these wildflower beds have brightened roadways and brought joy to residents and visitors alike. 

Each year, awards sponsored by The Garden Club of North Carolina are given to the best-looking flower beds in each region of the state. The awards recognize the efforts of NCDOT staff who carry out the program and enhance the overall appearance and environmental quality of the state's highways.

The 2022 Wildflower Awards were presented during the April Board of Transportation meeting by Roadside Environmental Engineer David Harris.

“Our wildflower beds wouldn't be successful without the hard work put in by our staff. Their commitment to creating detailed flower beds for everyone to enjoy deserves every recognition," said Harris. “The Wildflower Program is a long-lasting initiative, and we can't wait to see the beautiful blooms that are due to grow in 2023".

The Wildflower Awards were given for beds that bloomed in 2022. The winners are:

William D. Johnson Daylily Award:

  • First Place – Division 7, I-40 at Koury Blvd Guilford County
  • Second Place – Division 13, I-240 West at Exit 8 Buncombe County

Best Regional Wildflower Planting, Eastern Region:

  • First Place – Division 4, I-95 at MM 111.5 Wilson County
  • Second Place – Division 2, I-587 at NC 43 Pitt County

Best Regional Wildflower Planting, Central Region:

  • First Place – Division 9, I-85 South at Exit 91 Davidson County
  • Second Place – Division 7, US 220 Rockingham County

Best Regional Wildflower Planting, Western Region:

  • First Place - Division 11, US 421 Wilkes County
  • Second Place – Division 12, US 321 at High Shoals Lincoln County

Best Overall Division Wildflower Program:

  • First Place - Division 9, which includes Stokes, Forsyth, Davie, Davidson, Rowan.
  • Second Place – Division 7, which includes Alamance, Caswell, Guilford, and Rockingham. 

A Flickr album with photos of the winners is available here.  


4/10/2023 11:40 AM