skip to main
Close Menu

NCDOT Awards Contracts for Johnston, Wilson Counties

WILSON – More 22 miles of roadway in Wilson County and 30 miles in Johnston County will be refreshed and made smoother.

The N.C. Department of Transportation awarded today two contracts totaling $7.5 million to resurface several roads in these two neighboring counties. 

The contractors working in both counties can start next spring, and they will have until the fall of 2025 to complete everything.

All the work will be completed on secondary routes, except for repaving N.C. 42 (Tarboro Street) between Forest Hills Road and Ward Boulevard in Wilson.

Sections of the following secondary roads will see the improvements under these contracts:

Wilson County (19 routes)

  • Governor Hunt Road
  • Lamm Road
  • Zula's Place
  • Mobley Road
  • Merck Road
  • Nash Street
  • Varnell Road
  • Frank Price Church Road
  • Creech Road
  • Nichols Court
  • Harvest Lane SW
  • Mamie Road
  • Red Haven Court
  • Castlewood Drive
  • Danbury Lane
  • Scottsdale Drive
  • Castlewood Lane
  • Sandford Road
  • Callie Court

Johnston County (20 routes)

  • ​Ivey Road
  • Gum Swamp Road
  • Slate Top Road
  • Cole Road
  • Wiggs Road
  • Happy Trails Road
  • Nickel Drive/Penny Lane
  • Pritchard Road
  • Medlin Road
  • Maggie Way
  • Turnipseed Road
  • Harris Wilson Road
  • Strickland Hinton Road
  • Old Eason Road
  • Hardy Road
  • Davis Road
  • Russell Road
  • Simon Road
  • Stricklands Crossroads Road
  • Godwin Lake Road


11/20/2023 2:16 PM