skip to main
Close Menu

NCDOT Invests in Tomorrow: Awards Scholarships to Future Transportation Leaders


​RALEIGH - The N.C. Department of Transportation announced today the distribution of more than $50,000 in scholarships to 19 students as part of the 2024 NCDOT’s Office of Historically Black Colleges and Universities/Minority-Serving Institution Transportation Scholarship Program.

NCDOT’s commitment to diversity and professional development is exemplified through the HBCU and MSI Transportation Scholarship Program.

“We’re proud to be able to honor these students and help them as they continue their journeys,” said Christy Dunston, director of NCDOT’s HBCU Outreach. “All of these scholars have chosen to pursue degrees in a transportation field and we look forward to the positive impact they’ll make on our industry moving forward.”    

The Office of HBCU Outreach focuses on nurturing the next generation of transportation professionals by awarding $2,500 scholarships to students who attend a North Carolina HBCU or MSI and are pursuing degrees in a transportation-related field.

​​Eligible students must currently be enrolled in one of the 11 HBCU or four MSI in North Carolina. They must have completed at least 24 credit hours and have at least a 2.5 GPA.

The scholarship application period was open to eligible students in October and November.

A selection committee, consisting of NCDOT and HBCU/MSI partners, chose scholarship winners based on a student’s application, personal essays, financial need, academic transcripts and recommendations.

The selection process ensures that scholarship recipients are academically accomplished and dedicated to contributing meaningfully to the transportation industry. 
Eligible students are also encouraged to explore internship, fellowship and permanent positions with NCDOT.

Anyone interested in applying for the 2024-2025 scholarship program should visit NCDOT’s HBCU/MSI Transportation Scholarship web page next fall or winter when the state agency posts a link to apply online. 

The 2024 scholarship recipients are as follows:

  • Jessica Dawes N.C. A&T State University
  • Cameron Kelly Shaw University
  • Dylan Johnson N.C. A&T State University
  • Anusha Neupane N.C. A&T State University
  • Tydira Ingram N.C. A&T State University
  • Teren McNeill N.C. A&T State University
  • Kingsford Adomako N.C. A&T State University
  • Zachaya Ozuna N.C. A&T State University
  • Myah Arrington N.C. A&T State University
  • Kaylyn Chatman N.C. Central University
  • Taylor Crosland N.C. A&T State University
  • Comfort Olorundare Shaw University
  • Alonzo Lunsford Fayetteville State University
  • Armani Jones-Elliott University of North Carolina at Pembroke 
  • Rita James Shaw University
  • Claudia Duverglas N.C. A&T State University 
  • Imani Roberts N.C. A&T State University 
  • Zaria Bowman N.C. A&T State University 
  • Sainoria Williams Fayetteville State University


1/29/2024 8:05 PM