Deadline & Mailing Entries

Mail artwork and Certification of Authenticity to:

NCDOT Aviation Art Contest
NC Division of Aviation
1560 Mail Service Center
Raleigh NC 27699-1560

All entries must be postmarked no later than Friday, Jan. 19, 2018.

Related Links
Have Questions?

Call (919) 814-0550 or send a message.

The 2018 North Carolina Art Contest is a contest sponsored by the N.C. Department of Transportation's Division of Aviation to engage young people in aviation and aeronautics in the state.

This Year's Theme: 'Flight Into the Future'

If you have ever dreamed of flying or built a paper airplane, you have walked in the footsteps of the men and women who created the world of aviation as we know it today.

Ideas were written on paper. Wooden and cloth models were built to test the designs before the actual balloons, gliders and planes were built and tested by brave men and women in the air.

The first planes were slow and sluggish. Today, aerobatic planes race across the skies at over 400 kilometers per hour and twist and turn their composite bodies in ways that would have torn apart earlier aircraft.


Today, aircraft designers from all over the world work together to plan and test their ideas on computers. As the designs take shape, engineers and manufacturers build with the latest composites and other materials to make them lighter and more versatile than ever before to meet the needs of today’s flyers.

Balloons have gone from floating above cities to floating over the world, requiring space suits in the thin air. Those toy gliders have turned into drones of all shapes and sizes. Real wooden gliders have become lighter and more sophisticated, climbing higher and flying longer than ever before.

Each generation brings its passion for flight and blends new technologies and ideas to build on the knowledge of the past.

What new innovations and ideas will shape the aviation of the future? From hang gliders and parachutists to drone pilots and citizen astronauts, the only limit to the future of flight is the imagination of builders, dreamers and pilots of today.

It's time to tap into your own imagination, grab your favorite set of crayons, markers, pencils, or paints and create a poster for this year's Fédération Aéronautique Internationale's theme, "Flight into the Future." Show your vision of what can happen when people work together and follow their passion for flight.

Artwork will be judged, at least in part, for its creative use of this year's theme in relation to the aviation world.

Art Contest Requirements

Art Contest Eligibility

All children who live in and/or attend school in North Carolina and in the age groups below are encouraged to participate. Children who are related to officials and employees of NCDOT are also eligible to participate.

Art Contest Rules

  • Format: The required format is A3 (11¾ x 16½ inches) or, if this is unobtainable, the nearest possible equivalent. Artwork must NOT be framed or outlined with borders.
  • Medium: All artwork must be done by hand (or, in the case of children with physical challenges, by foot or mouth).
  • Permitted Media Prohibited Media
    • Watercolor
    • Acrylic
    • Oil paint
    • Indelible marker pens
    • Felt-tip pens
    • Soft ball-point pens
    • Indelible ink
    • Crayola
    • Other similar indelible medium
    • Pencil
    • Colored pencil
    • Charcoal or other non-permanent medium
    • Computer-generated artwork
    • Collage work involving the use of photocopies
  • Markings: The artist's name should not appear on the front of the artwork. The following information should be clearly shown on the back of the artwork:
    • Family name, given name
    • Address
    • Date of birth
    • Country of residence
    • Name and address of school
    • Title of the artwork (if desired)
  • Certification: A parent, guardian or art teacher must certify the authenticity of the artwork and the age of each artist. The Certification of Authenticity must be completed and mailed with the artwork.
  • Reproduction Rights: Once received, all entries will become and remain the properties of the NCDOT Division of Aviation and may be used for a variety of purposes. Those forwarded for international judging become and remain the property of the Fédération Aéronautique Internationale.

Art Contest Awards

State Awards: Entries in each age group will be judged, and state winners and runners-up will be selected. The top three entries in each age group will be forwarded to Washington, D.C. to be judged in the national competition. State winners will receive the following:

Junior Intermediate Senior
First Place $75 $100 $200
Second Place $50 $75 $100
Third Place $25 $50 $75

In addition to the individual awards, the winners' schools will receive a prize:

  • First Place: $100
  • Second Place: $50
  • Third Place: $25
  • National Awards: First-, second- and third-place national winners will be selected from each age group. All national winners will receive certificates, ribbons and a framed reproduction of their artwork.
  • International Awards: The first-, second- and third-place winners in each age group will be forwarded to Fédération Aéronautique Internationale Headquarters for international judging. Winners of the international competition will receive certificates and gold, silver or bronze medals.

Age Groups

  • Group I – Junior Category: Date of birth between Jan. 1, 2008, and Dec. 31, 2011
  • Group II – Intermediate Category: Date of birth between Jan. 1, 2004 and Dec. 31, 2007
  • Group III – Senior Category: Date of birth Jan. 1, 2000, and Dec. 31, 2003

Additional information is available on the website of the National Association of State Aviation Officials.