skip to main
Close Menu

Emissions Inspections to End in 26 N.C. Counties

RALEIGH – The Environmental Protection Agency on Sept. 24 approved a reduction in North Carolina counties required to perform yearly vehicle emissions tests. 

Beginning Dec. 1, 26 additional counties will no longer be required to conduct emissions tests.

Those counties include:
  • Brunswick
  • Burke
  • Caldwell
  • Carteret
  • Catawba
  • Chatham
  • Cleveland
  • Craven
  • Edgecombe
  • Granville
  • Harnett
  • Haywood
  • Henderson
  • Lenoir
  • Moore
  • Nash
  • Orange
  • Pitt
  • Robeson
  • Rutherford
  • Stanly
  • Stokes
  • Surry
  • Wayne
  • Wilkes
  • Wilson

The approval was a result of the passage of Senate Bill 131 (Regulatory Reform Act of 2016-2017) by the General Assembly during the 2017 long session.  Michael Regan, secretary of the N.C. Department of Environmental Quality, has certified the Implementation Plan to the EPA making Dec. 1 as the date the reduction becomes effective.  Details of the plan can be found on the website of the N.C. Department of Environmental Quality.
All counties will still require the safety inspection. Fifty-two counties already do not require annual vehicle emissions tests.  After Dec. 1, emissions inspections will still be required in 22 counties. Those include Alamance, Buncombe, Cabarrus, Cumberland, Davidson, Durham, Forsyth, Franklin, Gaston, Guilford, Iredell, Johnston, Lee, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, New Hanover, Onslow, Randolph, Rockingham, Rowan, Union and Wake counties.
A list of counties required to perform yearly emissions inspections, as well as information on emissions and safety inspections, is available on the NCDMV website.


12/18/2018 2:05 PM