skip to main
Close Menu

Two New Members Appointed to the N.C. Turnpike Authority Board of Directors

​RALEIGH – Governor Roy Cooper has appointed two new members to the Turnpike Authority Board of Directors.  The nine-member board consists of the secretary of the N.C. Department of Transportation, four members appointed by the governor, two by the president pro-tem of the N.C. Senate and two by the speaker of the N.C. House of Representatives. Both appointees were sworn in by the Honorable Cheri Beasley, Chief Justice, before the N.C. Turnpike Authority board meeting Thursday, February 6, 2020.

“I am thrilled to work with some of the most qualified leaders in North Carolina,” said NCTA Executive Director J.J. Eden. “As we work together to deliver projects, the Board is more ready than ever to bring innovative solutions for travelers in our state.” 

Mary N. Clayton: has more than 30 years of experience in transportation, with an emphasis in both the public and private sectors. Mary has specialized in Transportation Demand Management (TDM) and currently leads a statewide TDM project for NCDOT involving several of the state’s busiest and growing communities. She has led more than 20 consecutive contracts with ITRE for statewide TDM planning and technical assessments in North Carolina for the past 18 years. Mary is currently a Senior Vice President for Gresham Smith spearheading Transportation Service across North Carolina.

Sam Hunt IV: is known for his unparalleled entrepreneur and business acumen. Mr. Hunt currently serves as the President of Hunt Electric Supply Co., a family owned electrical distributor with eight locations across North Carolina. He has worked for Hunt Electric, holding several roles over the past 22 years. Mr. Hunt also is the President of, an online retail business started in 2013 providing products including energy saving lighting, electrical, camping, hunting, fishing and survival supplies. In addition to his membership on the N.C. Turnpike Authority Board, Mr. Hunt also serves on the board of Pet Adoption Welfare Society (PAWS) of Alamance County.  

The next N.C. Turnpike Authority Board of Directors meeting will take place Thursday, May 7 at 10:30 a.m. at the N.C. Department of Transportation, Room 608, 1 S. Wilmington St. in Raleigh.


2/14/2020 7:31 AM