skip to main
Close Menu

NCDOT Highway Divisions Want Small, Disadvantaged Businesses to Compete for Transportation Contracts

​​​​​​​​

RALEIGH - The N.C. Department of Transportation is encouraging disadvantaged businesses to compete for state transportation contracts.

“Our agency advertises and awards numerous contracts for projects big and small each year, but often many of these businesses may not be aware of how to work with our agency,” said state Transportation Secretary Eric Boyette. “Each project is an opportunity to encourage small and disadvantaged business participation, and to provide those businesses access to compete on NCDOT contracts.”

NCDOT awards contracts in many areas including mowing, litter pickup, landscaping, snow and ice removal, traffic control, painting, striping, and road construction.  

During the outreach events, highway division staff will be on hand to discuss the types of contracts, advertisements for upcoming projects, as well as letting and award processes.  

The outreach event for NCDOT Highway Divisions 1-14 will be held on the following schedule: 

​Division
​Location
​Date & Time
​RSVP Contact
​1
(Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington counties​)
113 Airport Dr., Suite 100, Edenton ​​June 19, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon
​Andrea Woodell
(252) 482-1868
agwoodell@ncdot.gov
​2
(Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Greene, Jones, Lenior, Pamlico and Pitt counties)
2815 Rouse Road Ext., Kinston
June 26, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon

Mary Margaret Herring
(252) 775-6100
mmherring@ncdot.gov

​3
(Brunswick, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender and Sampson counties​)
5504 Barbados Blvd., Castle Hayne
June 19, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon

Trevor Carroll
(910) 341-2000
tkcarroll@ncdot.gov

​4
(Edgecombe, Halifax, Johnston, Nash, Wayne
and Wilson counties​)
509 Ward Blvd., Wilson
June 26, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon

Brandon Herring, P.E.
(252) 640-6410
blherring@ncdot.gov

​5
(Durham, Franklin, Granville, Person, Vance, Wake and Warren counties)
​1301 Blue Ridge Road, Raleigh
June 19, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon

Mickey Biedell
(919) 220-4600
mbiedell@ncdot.gov

​6
(Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Harnett and Robeson counties)
​2817 Fort Bragg Road, Fayetteville
June 26, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon

Allen Waddell, P.E.
(910) 642-3760
rawaddell@ncdot.gov

​7
(Alamance, Caswell, Guliford, Orange and Rockingham counties)
1584 Yanceyville St., Greensboro
June 19, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon

Heather Helms
(336) 487-0000
hhelms@ncdot.gov

​8
(Chatham, Hoke, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Randolph, Richmond and Scotland counties)
150 DOT Drive, Carthage
June 26, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon

Reuben Blakley
(910) 773-8003
rblakley@ncdot.gov

​9
(Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Rowan and Stokes counties)
375 Silas Creek Parkway, Winston-Salem
June 19, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon

Marsheeka Steward
(336) 747-7800
mdsteward@ncdot.gov

​10
(Anson, Cabarrus, Mecklenburg, Stanly and Union counties)

​Metrolina Regional Transportation Management System​
2327 Tipton Dr., Charlotte​

June 26, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon

Terry Burleson
(704) 983-4400
twburleson@ncdot.gov

11​
(Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes and Yadkin counites)
801 Statesville Road, North Wilkesboro
June 19, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon

Kenny Heavner, P.E.
(336) 903-9115
khheavner@ncdot.gov

12​
(Alexander, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell and Lincoln counties)
​1710 East Marion St., Shelby
June 26, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon

Michael Poe
(980) 552-4203
mlpoe@ncdot.gov

13​
(Buncombe, Burke, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Rutherford and Yancey counties)
19 Tech Dr., Asheville
June 19, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon

Brendan​ Merithew
(828) 250-3000
bwmerithew@ncdot.gov

14​
(Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Polk, Swain and Transylvania counties)​
​220 Windy Gap Road, Franklin
June 26, 2021
10 a.m.-Noon

Wesley Grindstaff
(828) 586-2141
wtgrindstaff@ncdot.gov

NCDOT is requesting that DBEs RSVP if they would like to attend the event. 

For more information, visit www.ncdot.gov/highwaysdbe. You can also watch a video​ about contract opportunities.



***NCDOT***

6/18/2021 2:24 PM