Close Menu

Medical Certification Requirements

​Commercial drivers operating in certain types of commerce are required to obtain a "certified" medical status and maintain the status to avoid losing their commercial driver license.

There are four commerce types, two of which require a certified medical status.

Commerce TypeCertified Medical Status
Interstate Non-ExceptedRequired
Interstate ExceptedNot required
Intrastate Non-ExceptedRequired
Intrastate ExceptedNot required

Drivers required to maintain a certified medical status must provide a U.S. Department of Transportation medical examiners certificate to the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles by visiting a driver license office, emailing it to or mailing it to:

N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles
CDL Medical Certification Unit
3126 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27697-3126​​

For DOT medical examiner's certificates that are only valid with a vision, diabetes or a skills performance evaluation variance, the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Association will provide a copy of that variance to NCDMV.

Determining Commerce Type

Detailed information for determining whether a driver is required to have a certified medical status can be found in Section 1.3 of the Commercial Driver Manual.

Learn More

12/9/2019 8:31 AM

Back to top