skip to main
Close Menu

Corridor Identification & Development Program

​​​The federal Corridor Identification and Development Program assists states with new, enhanced or extended intercity passenger rail corridor development. This type of rail service generally involves trains traveling longer distances connecting the centers of cities and towns.

The N.C. Department of Transportation submitted 12 North Carolina rail corridors to this program and, if selected, they would be eligible to receive federal funding from the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Railroad Administration’s Competitive Discretionary Grants Program.

In May 2023, NCDOT’s Rail Division submitted the following corridors to the program:

  • Atlanta to Charlotte 
  • Charlotte to Kings Mountain
  • Charlotte to Washington, D.C. 
  • Fayetteville to Raleigh
  • Greenville to Raleigh
  • Hamlet to Raleigh
  • Salisbury to Asheville
  • Morehead City to Raleigh
  • Weldon to Raleigh
  • Wilmington to Raleigh
  • Winston-Salem to Charlotte
  • Winston-Salem to Raleigh​

 Click to enlarge. 


10/20/2023 3:47 PM