skip to main
Close Menu

Title VI Nondiscrimination Program

Title VI Nondiscrimination Program
The N.C. Department of Transportation is committed to ensuring that no person  – on the grounds of race, color, national origin, limited English proficiency, income status, sex, age or disability – is excluded from participating  in, denied the benefits of or otherwise subjected to discrimination under any NCDOT program or activity, as provided by Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and other related nondiscrimination laws and authorities.

Title VI applies to NCDOT and any entities receiving federal financial assistance through NCDOT. Other nondiscrimination laws also protect against discrimination, including:

  • Section 162(a) of the Federal-Aid Highway Act of 1973 (sex or gender)
    Age Discrimination Act of 1975 (age)
  • Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (disability)
  • Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (disability)
  • Fair Housing Act (religion)
  • Federal Aviation Administration's 49 U.S.C. 47123 (religion)

Taken together with Executive Orders 12898 (Environmental Justice) and 13166 (Limited English Proficiency), these requirements define an overarching Title VI Nondiscrimination Program that applies to everyone and is not limited to U.S. citizens.


6/23/2020 4:33 PM