Click It or Ticket is the Governor’s Highway Safety Program’s primary campaign to boost the use of seat belts and child safety seats.
During Click It or Ticket enforcement and education campaigns, law enforcement agencies increase the number of patrols and officers in an area, set up checking stations, and use local media to reach out to drivers.
Violators of North Carolina’s seat belt law are fined $179 (or $263 if a passenger under age 15 is not properly restrained). That doesn't include the potential cost of a lost life.
North Carolina’s Click It or Ticket campaign was the first in the nation and is now used as the model by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
Even with its success, more than 11,900 people have lost their lives since 1993 because they did not take a couple of seconds to buckle up.