skip to main
Close Menu

Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Outreach

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
 
 
​​

The N.C. Department of Transportation's Division of Highways in partnership with its Office of Civil Rights started hosting in-person outreach events in all 14 highway divisions in 2021. If you own a Disadvantaged Business Enterprise (DBEs) — whether a small, woman-owned or minority-owned business —​ NCDOT wants to work with you.

A total of 182 people representing all types of firms participated in the first outreach events held in successive Saturdays in June. The next round of statewide outreach events will be held in September. See the schedule below.  

NCDOT's Division of Highways advertises and awards numerous contracts each year for all sorts of transportation work. Each project is an opportunity for NCDOT to encourage DBE participation and provide equitable and balanced access for these businesses to compete on contracts.

NCDOT has multiple contract opportunities statewide, including:

  • Construction
  • Maintenance
  • Emergency work
  • Mowing
  • Traffic control
  • Tree service
  • Cleaning service
  • Litter pickup
  • Dead animal removal

It is important to NCDOT to collaborate with DBEs. As such, the department is extending an invitation to all certified firms​ to do business and learn more about the opportunities available.

Do Business with NCDOT

Highway Division staff will be on hand during these events to help the owners of small, minority or woman-owned firms learn about how they can do business with NCDOT. These events are being organized by the Division of Highways in partnership with NCDOT's Office of Civil Rights. 

NCDOT is asking people to RSVP the appropriate highway division contact below if you would like to attend an outreach event near you.​


​​Division 
Date & Time
Location
​Contact
​Division 1
(Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington counties​)
​Sept. 11
10 a.m.-noon​
Division 1 Office
113 Airport Drive
Suite 100
Edenton​​

​Andrea Woodell
(252) 482-1868
agwoodell@ncdot.gov
​Division 3
(Brunswick, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender and Sampson counties)
​Sept. 11
10 a.m.-noon
Division 3 Office
5504 Barbados Blvd.
Castle Hayne​​

Trevor Carroll 
(910) 341-2000
tkcarroll@ncdot.gov
​Division 5
(Durham, Franklin, Granville, Person, Vance, Wake and Warren counties)
​Sept. 11
10 a.m.-noon
Division 5 Office
​1301 Blue Ridge Road
Raleigh

​Mickey Biedell
(919) 220-4600 mbiedell@ncdot.gov​
​Division 7
(Alamance, Caswell, Guliford, Orange and Rockingham counties)
​Sept. 11
10 a.m.-noon
​Division 7 Office
1584 Yanceyville St. 
Greensboro

​Heather Helms
(336) 487-0000​
hhelms@ncdot.gov

​Division 9
(Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Rowan and Stokes counties)
​Sept. 11
10 a.m.-noon
Division 9 Office
375 Silas Creek Parkway
Winston-Salem

​Marsheeka Steward
(336) 747-7800
mdsteward@ncdot.gov
​Division 11
(Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes and Yadkin counites)
​Sept. 11
10 a.m.-noon
Division 11 Office​
801 Statesville Road 
North Wilkesboro

​Kenny Heavner, P.E.
(336) 903-9115
khheavner@ncdot.gov
Division ​13
(Buncombe, Burke, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Rutherford and Yancey counties)
​Sept. 11
10 a.m.-noon
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College
​Ferguson Auditorium
55 Orange St.
Asheville 


Brendan​ Merithew
(828) 250-3000
bwmerithew@ncdot.gov
​Division 2
(Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Greene, Jones, Lenior, Pamlico and Pitt counties)
​Sept. 25
10 a.m.-noon
​Division 2 Office
2815 Rouse Road Extension
Kinston

Mary Margaret Herring
(252) 775-6100​mmherring@ncdot.gov
​Division 4
(Edgecombe, Halifax, Johnston, Nash, Wayne and Wilson counties)
​Sept. 25
10 a.m.-noon
Division 4 Office​
509 Ward Blvd.
Wilson

Brandon Herring, P.E.
blherring@ncdot.gov
(252) 640-6410
​Division 6
(Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Harnett and Robeson counties)
​Sept. 25
10 a.m.-noon
Fayetteville Technical Community College
Room 108/113
2817 Fort Bragg Road
Fayetteville 
​​
Allen Waddell, P.E.
(910) 642-3760
rawaddell@ncdot.gov

Division ​8
(Chatham, Hoke, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Randolph, Richmond and Scotland counties)
​Sept. 25
10 a.m.-noon
​NCDOT Traffic Services Offices
150 DOT Drive
Carthage​

​Reuben Blakley
(910) 773-8003
rblakley@ncdot.gov

Division ​10
(Anson, Cabarrus, Mecklenburg, Stanly and Union counties)
​Sept. 25 
10 a.m.-noon
Metrolina Regional Transportation Management System
2327 Tipton Drive
Charlotte

Terry Burleson
(704) 983-4400
twburleson@ncdot.gov
​Division 12
(Alexander, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell and Lincoln counties)
​Sept. 25
10 a.m.-noon
​Division 12 Office 
1710 E. Marion St.
Shelby

​Michael Poe, P.E.
(980) 552-4203
mlpoe@ncdot.gov
​Division 14
(Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Polk, Swain and Transylvania counties)
​Sept. 25
10 a.m.-noon​
NCDOT County Maintenance Office
220 Windy Gap Road
Franklin​​

Wesley Grindstaff
(828) 586-2141
wtgrindstaff@ncdot.gov

​These events are being organized by the Division of Highways in partnership with the Office of Civil Rights. ​

Related

6/30/2021 8:45 AM