skip to main
Close Menu

Disadvantaged Business Enterprise Outreach


The N.C. Department of Transportation's Division of Highways in partnership with its Office of Civil Rights hosts regional outreach events for all 14 highway divisions. If you own a Disadvantaged Business Enterprise — whether a small, woman-owned or minority-owned business —​ NCDOT wants to work with you.

Hundreds of firms representing all types of industries participated in the first several events held on Saturdays since June 2021. ​​The next round of out reach events will take place in​​ September 2024​. 

​NCDOT's Division of Highways advertises and awards numerous contracts each year for all sorts of transportation work. Each project is an opportunity for NCDOT to encourage DBE participation and provide equitable and balanced access for these businesses to compete on contracts.

NCDOT has multiple contract opportunities statewide, including:

  • Construction
  • Maintenance
  • Emergency work
  • Mowing
  • Traffic control
  • Tree service
  • Cleaning service
  • Litter pickup
  • Dead animal removal

It is important to NCDOT to collaborate with disadvantage business enterprises. As such, the department is extending an invitation to all certified firms​ to do business and learn more about the opportunities available.

​Highway Division staff will be on hand during these events to help the owners of small, minority or woman-owned firms learn about how they can do business with NCDOT. These outreach​ events are being organized by the Division of Highways in partnership with NCDOT's Office of Civil Rights. 

NCDOT is asking people to RSVP the appropriate highway division contact below if you would like to attend an event near you.​​​


Do Business with NCDOT

Can't make it to a meeting? Additional information for doing business with the Division of Highways is available on Connect NCDOT​, the department's website for business and transit partners.

​Date & Time​
​Division 1
(Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington counties​)
​​​Saturday, Sept. 14
10 a.m.-n​​oon

Division 1 Office
113 Airport Drive
Suite 100

Marjorie Eckert

​Division 2
(Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, Pamlico and Pitt counties)
Saturday, Sept. 28
10 a.m.-noon

Division 2 Office
2815 Rouse Road Extension

Mary Margaret Herring

Division 3
(Brunswick, Duplin, New Hanover, Onslow, Pender and Sampson counties)
Saturday, Sept. 14​​​
10 a.m.-noon

Division 3 Office
5504 Barbados Blvd.
Castle Hayne
Trevor Carroll, P.E. 
(910) 341-2000

Division 4
(Edgecombe, Halifax, Johnston, Nash, Wayne and Wilson counties)
Saturday, Sept. 28
10 a.m.-noon

Division 4 Office
509 Ward Blvd.

Brandon Herring, P.E.
(252) 640-6410

Division 5
(Durham, Franklin, Granville, Person, Vance, Wake and Warren counties)​
Saturday, Sept. 14​​
10 a.m.-noon

Wake County Maintenance Facility​
1301 Blue Ridge Road
​Mickey Biedell, P.E.
(919) 220-4600​

​Division 6
(Bladen, Columbus, Cumberland, Harnett and Robeson counties)
​Saturday, Sept. 28​
​10 a.m.-noon​

Robeson Community College
Truist Room (Building 18)
5160 Fayetteville Road

Marjorie Davis
(910) 364-0600

​​Division 7
(Alamance, Caswell, Guilford, Orange and Rockingham counties)​
Saturday, Sept. 14
10 a.m.-noon

Division 7 Office
1584 Yanceyville St.

Jennifer Sour
(336) 487-0000​

​Division ​8
(Chatham, Hoke, Lee, Montgomery, Moore, Randolph, Richmond and Scotland counties)​​
Saturday, Sept. 28
10 a.m.-noon​

Division 8 Office 
150 DOT Drive

Michael McKenzie, P.E.
(910) 773-8029​
​Division 9
(Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Rowan and Stokes counties)
Saturday, Sept. 14
10 a.m.-noon

​Division 9 Office​
375 Silas Creek Parkway

Marsheeka Steward
(336) 747-7800​

Division ​10
(Anson, Cabarrus, Mecklenburg, Stanly and Union counties)​
​Saturday, Sept. 28
10 a.m.-noon

Metrolina Regional Transportation Management Center
2327 Tipton Drive

Jared Mathis, P.E.

(704) 983-4458


​Division 11
(Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Surry, Watauga, Wilkes and Yadkin counties)
Saturday, Sept. 14
10 a.m.-noon

Division 11 Office
​801 Statesville Road
North Wilkesboro​​
Bethany Elmore
​Division 12
(Alexander, Catawba, Cleveland, Gaston, Iredell and Lincoln counties)
Saturday, Sept. 28
10 a.m.-noon

​              Division 12 Office
1710 E. Marion St. 

Greg Brittain, PLS
(980) 552-4222
Division ​13
(Buncombe, Burke, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Rutherford and Yancey counties)
Saturday, ​Sept. 14
4-6 p.m.​​

Buncombe County Maintenance ​Office
11 Old Charlotte Highway 
Asheville  ​​
Brendan Merithew, P.E.(828) 250-3000
​​Division 14
(Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Polk, Swain and Transylvania counties)
Saturday, Sept. 28
10 a.m.-noon

Henderson County Maintenance Facility
693 Mountain Road

Wesley Grindstaff
(828) 586-2141
​​These events are being organized by the Division of Highways in partnership with the Office of Civil Rights.


3/27/2024 5:18 PM