Weather permitting, motorcycle road tests are on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays at limited office locations. Please check the
online appointment scheduler for availability.
To operate a motorcycle in North Carolina, an individual must have a motorcycle learner permit or a motorcycle endorsement on their provisional, regular or commercial driver license.
The N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles'
Motorcyclists' Handbook provides information applicants must know regarding safety and motorcycle operation.
Applying for a Motorcycle Learner Permit
To apply for a motorcycle learner permit, an individual must have a full provisional, regular or commercial driver license and also pass a motorcycle knowledge test, road sign identification and vision tests.
Individuals ages 16-18 with a full provisional license must also have signed parental or guardian consent and successfully complete a motorcycle safety course offered by the
Motorcycle Safety Foundation or
North Carolina Motorcycle Safety Education Program.
Motorcycle learner permits are issued for 12 months and can only be renewed once for a period of six months.
Applying for a Motorcycle Endorsement
To apply for a motorcycle endorsement, an individual must possess a full-provisional, regular or commercial driver license and pass both a motorcycle knowledge test and then an off-street motorcycle skills test.
Motorcycle road tests are by appointment only on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays, as the weather permits, at select
NCDMV driver license offices.
Although a driver license is not required, operators must be at least 16 years old to operate on North Carolina highways or public areas.
North Carolina law requires operators to wear a
motorcycle safety helmet when using a moped. Mopeds must also be registered.
Fees are associated with motorcycle learner permits and endorsements and can be paid through a variety of
common payment methods.
View a list of fees.
Appointments are required for ALL services that need to be completed in a driver license office.