The N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles accepts cash, money orders, personal checks and Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover credit and debit cards at
all NCDMV office locations.
Payments in the form of check – either submitted by mail or in person – must:
- Be made payable to NCDMV
- Be accompanied by two forms of identification
- Be written in blue or black ink
- Have the check holder's pre-printed name, address and phone number
- Be issued by a North Carolina-based bank or a bank with a branch in North Carolina
A credit or debit card is required for online transactions requiring payment.
Contactless Payment Available at License Plate Agencies
All license plate agencies now accept Apple Pay, Android Pay, Samsung Pay and other contactless cards for Visa and MasterCard transactions. The same payment options will be available at driver’s license offices in the near future.
NCDMV services may be blocked for individuals who have paid for or received a DMV service with a returned check, returned ACH, or a credit card chargeback.
NCDMV applies a 10 percent additional tax (a minimum of $10) to all returned items, and an interest penalty is applied monthly if the balance due is not paid within 30 days.
Individuals can make payments for a returned item online through MoneyGram or at any MoneyGram location. Individuals should contact the DMV Return Items Unit at (919) 707-4260 for additional instructions.
Individuals can also make payments for a returned item by money order, cashier's check or certified check, which should include the individual's reference number. Personal checks and business checks are not accepted as a form of payment for a returned item.
NCDMV Return Check Unit
P.O. Box 29615
Raleigh, NC 27626-0615
Questions about returned checks should be directed to (919) 707-4260.