Within 60 days of moving to North Carolina or moving within the state, an individual must:
- Change their address with the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles
- Get a new or duplicate license or ID as well as a new or duplicate vehicle registration
Residents moving outside North Carolina must surrender their North Carolina license and license plate upon establishing a new permanent residence.
Individuals who have not moved but need to change just the mailing address on their valid North Carolina driver license or ID should call the NCDMV Customer Contact Center at (919) 715-7000, or send a message to NCDMV.
Liability Insurance Lapse Penalty Waiver for Vehicles Registered Out of State
Any monetary penalty or restoration fee will be waived for any person who meets all the following requirements:
- The owner must furnish a copy of their out-of-state registration reflecting the vehicle has been registered by the owner in their new state within 30 days of the cancellation or expiration of the owner's North Carolina motor vehicle liability policy.
- The owner must submit a copy of their current out-of-state registration card to NCDMV.
- The owner must return the valid North Carolina license plate or submit an affidavit (MVR18A) indicating that the North Carolina registration plate has been lost, stolen, or destroyed.