Some Expiration Dates Extended
Extended expiration dates for most NCDMV credentials, including vehicle registrations and Class C driver licenses, expired July 31, 2020. However, Gov. Cooper has extended expiration dates for five other DMV credentials until 30 days after the emergency order for COVID-19 is lifted.
Read more here.
About 60 days before a vehicle's registration expires, the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles mails to the address on record
a renewal notice
that lists the vehicle's registration renewal fee as well as any vehicle property taxes due.
Vehicle registrations must be renewed annually.
Both are due at the same time and can be paid
online as well as by mail or at
an NCDMV license plate agency as part of North Carolina's
Tag & Tax Together program that, under state law, transfers the responsibility of motor vehicle tax collection to NCDMV.
NCDMV uses an online service called PayIt that allows you to take advantage of completing multiple transactions during the same website visit.
PayIt collects the $3 fee as payment for its services.
The State of North Carolina does not collect or benefit from the transaction fee. If you prefer not to pay the convenience fee, you can visit a local license plate agency or mail the payment into the address listed on the notice.
To renew online, the registered owner must have the vehicle’s license plate number and last five digits of the vehicle title number, both of which can be found on the renewal notice, the prior registration card or an individual’s
Requirements & Restrictions
Before renewing a vehicle's registration, the vehicle must first undergo a
safety and/or emissions inspection no more than 90 days before its license plate expires. (Some vehicles may qualify for a waiver.)
North Carolina liability insurance must be maintained continuously on a vehicle for registration to be renewed.
Registration Stops or "Blocks"
Under certain circumstances, an individual may not be able to register a vehicle. These are referred to as
registration stops, or "blocks." Please review the list of registration stops and take the required steps to clear them before continuing.
Vehicle Tax Values & Appeals
Questions regarding vehicle values and appeals on tax values must be directed to the
tax assessor in the county where the vehicle is registered, not NCDMV.
Registration Renewal Late Fees
Although an individual can legally operate their vehicle up to 15 days after their registration expires ("valid through" date), the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicle charges a late fee up to $25 on all registration renewals paid after the license plate's expiration date.
Lost or Never Received Renewal Registration Notice?
A renewal notice isn’t required to renew a vehicle registration. To request a registration notice, however,
send a message or call NCDMV at (919) 715-7000.
In addition to paying online, renewals can be made at an
NCDMV license plate agency. The vehicle’s license plate number and insurance information are required.
If a vehicle fails to pass an emissions inspection, its owner may obtain from a local license plate agency a 10-day trip permit that allows them to drive to an inspection station for re-inspection once issues have been repaired.