The N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles offers identification cards for customers who require a photo ID but do not require a driver license. Under North Carolina law, holders of these non-operator IDs are not permitted to operate a motor vehicle.
When applying for an ID card for the first time, an individual must visit
an NCDMV driver license office with the following documents:
Note: NCDMV also offers an N.C. REAL ID identification card, which requires
additional information and requirements.
issues ID cards from a central location and mails them to applicants within 20 days.
No-Fee ID Cards
The cost for a standard non-operator ID card is $13, but IDs are available at no cost for qualified customers.
|No-fee ID |
North Carolina residents who are either:
- Legally blind
- At least 70 years old
- Had a license that was canceled because of a disability or disease
- Individuals who are legally blind must present a letter from a physician or the director of the
N.C. Division of Services for the Blind.
- Individuals who are homeless must present a letter from the director of a facility that provides care or shelter to the homeless that verifies that the person is homeless.
|No-fee ID for citizens with developmental disabilities||North Carolina residents diagnosed with a developmental disability|
- Individuals – or their legal guardian –must complete an
Application for Identification Card.
- Applicants must have their primary care providers complete the form's Physician Section or sign a letter certifying that the applicant has a developmental disability.
Homebound Customer Requests
Residents who want to obtain an ID card but are unable to appear at
an NCDMV driver license office because of a severe disability may request homebound assistance by:
- Completing the Homebound Customer Request form.
- Calling Issuance Resolution at (919) 861-3030
- Requesting by mail from the Issuance Resolution Unit, 3176 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27697-3176
To be eligible for homebound assistance, the resident must present a letter from a physician certifying that the resident is homebound and must, as described above, provide proof of age and identity, a valid Social Security number and proof of citizenship and residency.