Close Menu

Order Personalized & Specialized Plates


​Before You Begin​

The N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles uses an online service, called PayIt, that allows you to take advantage of completing multiple services in one secure transaction.

PayIt collects a $3 fee per online transaction​ plus​ a 1.85 percent card processing fee​, These fees are used ​to deliver quality services more efficiently with no upfront costs to NCDMV. The State of North Carolina does not collect or benefit from the transaction or processing​​ fees. 

Check out some frequently asked questions for more information about PayIt and how to use the service.

Ready to Order a Plate?

What You Need

Personalized and specialized plates can only be ordered online for vehicles that are currently titled and registered in North Carolina.

Please note: Supreme Court case law has deemed state-issued license plates as "government speech" and provides the issuing agency with broad discretion in refusing to issue or recall a plate with an indecent word/phrase or meaning. Therefore, such speech is not subject to a First Amendment analysis.​

To order a plate, you will need the following information, which can be found on your renewal notice or your registration card:

  • Your vehicle license plate number
  • The last five digits of the vehicle title number
Have questions? Learn more about ordering personalized and specialized plates.

Other Ordering Options

Prefer not to pay the transaction fee? You can order a personalized or specialized plate at an NCDMV license plate agency, or by mail.

To personalize a standard plate design, fill out a personalized plate application form and mail it, along with the fee, to:

N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles
3155 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, North Carolina 27697-3155

If you would like a specialized registration plate, you must fill out the appropriate special plate application.


PayIt Support

(855) 980-6559


6/30/2024 7:07 PM

Back to top