Close Menu

Frequently Asked Questions

Expand All
Collapse All
  • When may I use disability parking?
    Disability parking may be used only when the person to whom the placard or plate was issued is in the vehicle. If that person is not in the vehicle, the driver may not use the disability placard/plate.

    Anyone else using a disability parking placard or plate for any reason may be subject to posted fines.
  • Is the North Carolina disability placard or plate recognized in other states?
    ​Yes. Other states recognize North Carolina disability placards and plates. In addition, local law enforcement recognizes valid placards from other states and countries.
  • Where can I park using my plate or placard?
    ​If you have a valid disability placard or plate, you may use spaces marked for the disabled without time limits. In many, but not all jurisdictions, you may also park longer than posted in any parking space.
  • Where should I not park?
    ​You may not park in fire lanes, loading zones or any area marked with striped lines. You may not obstruct the entrance or exit to a property with your vehicle.
  • What is the penalty for parking illegally in a space designated for persons with disabilities?
    Parking spaces for driver/owners with disabilities are required to be marked with a sign designating the maximum penalty for parking in the space in violation of the law. It is unlawful to park or leave standing any vehicle that does not carry a valid disability placard or plate in a parking space for individuals with disabilities. It is also unlawful to block or obstruct a curb ramp or curb cut for people with disabilities, as provided under the North Carolina Building Code.

    Violations of these parking requirements are infractions which carry penalties of $100 to $250.

    Additionally, law enforcement officers may order a vehicle in violation of this section to be towed. Provisions relative to parking in spaces marked and reserved for people with disabilities are enforced by state, county and municipal authorities in their jurisdictions and may be subject to citations and fines.
  • What is a “van-accessible” parking space?
    ​The average space for disability parking is 60 inches wide while van accessible spaces are 96 inches wide. They provide enough room for ramps or lifts to allow wheelchairs to exit safely.
  • What are the striped aisles in parking lots?
    ​Striped aisles, or access aisles, are used for wheelchair transfer, walker use and for ramps and lifts to operate safely. Van accessible spaces are usually next to access aisles. leave striped access aisles free for wheelchairs and walkers.
  • Which space should I park in?
    Park in the space that fits your vehicle. If you have a use a small vehicle, do not park in the van-accessible space. Save the van-accessible space for a wheelchair-accessible van.

7/5/2019 1:11 PM

Back to top