The following list outlines general rules commercial drivers must follow to avoid suspension and revocation of their license. A complete listing is available in Section 1 of the Commercial Driver License Manual.
- An individual must hold a commercial learner permit for 14 days prior to skills testing.
- No one can have more than one commercial license. Individuals in violation of this rule can be fined up to $5,000 or jailed.
- A commercial driver licensed in North Carolina must notify their employer and the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles within 30 days of being convicted of any moving traffic violations.
- A commercially driver must notify their employer within two business days if their license is suspended, revoked or canceled, or if they are disqualified from driving.
- When applying for a commercial driving drop, a commercial driver must give their prospective employer information on all driving jobs for the past 10 years.
- It is a violation of North Carolina law to possess any alcoholic beverage (open or closed) while operating a commercial motor vehicle.
- It is illegal to operate a commercial motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .04 percent or more. Individuals will lose their commercial driver license for one year for a first offense and for life for a second offense. If a blood alcohol concentration is less than .04 percent but an individual has any detectable amount, they will be put out of service for 24 hours.
- Fines for violations of the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance Out-of-State criteria must be paid when the citation is written.
- There is a minimum fine of $250 for speeding in highway work zones, in addition to any fines or penalties that may be imposed for speeding violations.
- There are now minimum limits of insurance requirements for commercial motor vehicles licensed in North Carolina, whether interstate or intrastate, private or "for hire" in the amount of $750,000.
- The court system can double any fine for operators of commercial motor vehicles that violate motor vehicle laws in which points are assessed.
- There will be an increase in the number of points assessed to an individual's driving record for motor vehicle law violations, including railroad crossing violations and possession of an alcoholic beverage, while operating a commercial motor vehicle.